Jump to content



Photo

a question about large monster movement


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#21 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,900 posts

Posted 16 May 2014 - 04:52 PM

w8! when interupt its movement monster needs to expand, right?

even if it 2 move actions he stil needs to expand, or did i got it wrong?

If he does 2 move actions, he can do all the moving at once and only expand when he's done moving.



#22 Sixko

Sixko

    Member

  • Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 17 May 2014 - 02:51 AM

 

w8! when interupt its movement monster needs to expand, right?

even if it 2 move actions he stil needs to expand, or did i got it wrong?

If he does 2 move actions, he can do all the moving at once and only expand when he's done moving.

 

Just to clarify, this is done by interupting his first move action with another move action before actually spending any movement points.

So you could say that the monster actually expands twice, once in his starting place and once when he ends his movement.



#23 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 17 May 2014 - 06:21 AM

w8! when interupt its movement monster needs to expand, right?

even if it 2 move actions he stil needs to expand, or did i got it wrong?

 

As far as I understand it, you can start a monsters move action after the first point of movement interrupt for the second and thus have double movement. Question is whether you have to expand to trigger the second move action???


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#24 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,900 posts

Posted 17 May 2014 - 09:47 AM

If you are asking if he has to expand mid-move to do so, no.  He can move all spaces in "compressed" mode and expand at the end of the movement.

 

Basically, I like to think of a Move action basically giving the figure X movement points, so activating 2 moves would just give him 2X movement points.  He then spends his movement points however he wants during his activation, and during movement he doesn't need to expand until he's done moving for whatever reason.


  • SolennelBern likes this

#25 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 17 May 2014 - 11:08 AM

If you are asking if he has to expand mid-move to do so, no.  He can move all spaces in "compressed" mode and expand at the end of the movement.

 

Basically, I like to think of a Move action basically giving the figure X movement points, so activating 2 moves would just give him 2X movement points.  He then spends his movement points however he wants during his activation, and during movement he doesn't need to expand until he's done moving for whatever reason.

Definitely, but I also think it's worth pointing out that a figure can only expand when it's interrupting to perform another action- it can't just expand for no reason. Therefore, if a large monster is taking 2 movement actions during its activation, it could expand at most twice- once when it takes its second move action, and once when it finishes- though if it takes its two move actions right away, it need only expand when it is finished moving.



#26 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,900 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 01:16 AM

Agreed, otherwise a 3x2 figure could expand after every step to gain an extra 2 spaces for each movement (assuming the could legally expand, of course).  Thus, a move of 3 would translate into about a move of 9, which would be insane :)



#27 Nonimus

Nonimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 03:10 PM

can large monster combine MP from dash and the other movement card (can't remember the name)?

for example monster use 1 action to move + dash/other movement card

does monster needs to expand then in the midle of movement?



#28 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 19 May 2014 - 06:51 AM

can large monster combine MP from dash and the other movement card (can't remember the name)?

for example monster use 1 action to move + dash/other movement card

does monster needs to expand then in the midle of movement?

They can combine the MP. It would go:

 

-Shadow dragon takes a move action (gets 3 MP)

-Before spending any, OL plays "dash" (monster has another move action, takes it for 3 more MP)

-Dragon moves 6 spaces without expanding in between.



#29 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 19 May 2014 - 03:51 PM

Though remember that generally speaking, it's rare you'll want to NOT expand in the middle of the move actions because you can cover more distance by using that extra expansion. There are times when you won't be able to because of other figure placement, but it's rare.



#30 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 373 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 01:00 AM

 

can large monster combine MP from dash and the other movement card (can't remember the name)?

for example monster use 1 action to move + dash/other movement card

does monster needs to expand then in the midle of movement?

They can combine the MP. It would go:

 

-Shadow dragon takes a move action (gets 3 MP)

-Before spending any, OL plays "dash" (monster has another move action, takes it for 3 more MP)

-Dragon moves 6 spaces without expanding in between.

 

 

Dash is played when activating a monster, thus its played before the monster does any of its actions. This is important to note because sometimes you will want to play dash after your monster has killed a hero so he is able to move through, however its actually too late to play the card by this stage as you have gotten past the activation stage. Therefor you need to play dash before attacking the hero, betting on the fact that you will need to kill him so you can move past him, if you miss... you just wasted your dash card.

See unofficial ruling below.

 

The card also says the monster may perform an additional move action, it does not say when that move action has to be taken. So you could:

Play the dash card while activating your monster.

declare a move action

move 3 spaces

expand

declare a move action

move 3 spaces

expand

declare a move action (this one is using your free dash movement action you got from dash)

move 3 spaces

expand

 

That is to say that the dash card does not immediately afford you 3 movement points, it just gives you the option of being able to declare an extra movement action.


Edited by BentoSan, 20 May 2014 - 08:59 AM.


#31 Sixko

Sixko

    Member

  • Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 02:05 AM

 

Dash is played when activating a monster, thus its played before the monster does any of its actions. 

 

The FAQ on BGG doesnt agree with you on that one, has this been changed in one of the later erattas?

 

http://boardgamegeek..._Unofficial_FAQ

 

Q: When can we play "Dash" or "Frenzy"? When we first activate the monster before we take actions? Or at any time while we are still activating said monster?

A: Those Overlord cards may be played at any point during a monster's activation. (1)

#32 Indalecio

Indalecio

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 03:04 AM

 

Dash is played when activating a monster, thus its played before the monster does any of its actions. 

 

The FAQ on BGG doesnt agree with you on that one, has this been changed in one of the later erattas?

 

http://boardgamegeek..._Unofficial_FAQ

 

Q: When can we play "Dash" or "Frenzy"? When we first activate the monster before we take actions? Or at any time while we are still activating said monster?

A: Those Overlord cards may be played at any point during a monster's activation. (1)

 

Really? Is this for real? That's a tremendous change and there is no way you can back this new ruling with the printed text on the card. Okay about errata:ed cards bringing some limitations or clarifications about the rules which somehow still relate to the printed text on the card, but we're talking about a different text here practically speaking. The current text clearly emphasises on the "when activating a monster" which is by definition before executing its actions. Plus this FAQ does not look very official even if it might be sourced by official responses from FFG. So seriously, how do you take this into account? Can somebody confirm?



#33 Sixko

Sixko

    Member

  • Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 03:22 AM

Plus this FAQ does not look very official even if it might be sourced by official responses from FFG. So seriously, how do you take this into account? Can somebody confirm?

 

 

Its called "Descent Second Edition Unoffcial FAQ" so no, it is not official :)

It is a compiled list of questions that have been answered by FFG just as you suspected.



#34 Indalecio

Indalecio

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 03:41 AM

 

Plus this FAQ does not look very official even if it might be sourced by official responses from FFG. So seriously, how do you take this into account? Can somebody confirm?

 

 

Its called "Descent Second Edition Unoffcial FAQ" so no, it is not official :)

It is a compiled list of questions that have been answered by FFG just as you suspected.

 

 

You're killing me, man :) My hero players are very strict in terms of rules, this unofficial FAQ is nothing they will trust. But I mean, shouldn't this be in the official FAQ for a change of that scale? That changes a lot of things for me as the OL.


Edited by Indalecio, 20 May 2014 - 03:42 AM.


#35 Sixko

Sixko

    Member

  • Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 04:46 AM

 

You're killing me, man :) My hero players are very strict in terms of rules, this unofficial FAQ is nothing they will trust. But I mean, shouldn't this be in the official FAQ for a change of that scale? That changes a lot of things for me as the OL.

 

 

Its still rulings from FFG so its the best we got really, though I agree that FFG should put all of their rulings into some kind of official FAQ instead.



#36 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 06:40 AM

 

 

That's not necessarily true about the wording. "When activating" doesn't mean "at the beginning of the activation" anymore than "when moving" means "as you take your first step," or "when attacking" means "immediately after you declare your target." The phrase "when activating" could very, very conceivably be taken to mean "during a monster's activation," and that's how my group has been playing (based on the unofficial ruling cited above on BGG.)


Edited by Zaltyre, 20 May 2014 - 06:41 AM.

  • griton likes this

#37 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,900 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 08:46 AM

I'm kinda surprised at that change, myself - those cards are already VERY powerful, I don't see why they wanted to make them MORE powerful by allowing the OL to play them mid-action.

 

We probably will continue to play it the other way.



#38 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 373 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 08:56 AM

 

Dash is played when activating a monster, thus its played before the monster does any of its actions. 

 

The FAQ on BGG doesnt agree with you on that one, has this been changed in one of the later erattas?

 

http://boardgamegeek..._Unofficial_FAQ

 

Q: When can we play "Dash" or "Frenzy"? When we first activate the monster before we take actions? Or at any time while we are still activating said monster?

A: Those Overlord cards may be played at any point during a monster's activation. (1)

 

 

Thank you for correcting me on that one, i was not aware of this ruling. This certainly does change things alot.

 

I personally play by the rulings in the unofficial FAQ so i will implement this into my games.


Edited by BentoSan, 20 May 2014 - 09:00 AM.


#39 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 10:31 AM

It is kind of a big deal, BentoSan, especially since you can reserve "Frenzy" for when your normal attack action misses. None of my hero players had a problem with the wording of that card, and they get quite specific about rules.

 

Also, (getting back to the topic of this thread,) a dash can be played later in the turn, allowing the monster to run away after the heroes think they may have it "trapped," (possibly exhausting cards or abilities that they may during the OL turn) since it may have spent its two actions.


Edited by Zaltyre, 20 May 2014 - 10:37 AM.


#40 evilhead

evilhead

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 20 May 2014 - 03:22 PM

Suddenly the BASIC I deck is back!


Edited by evilhead, 20 May 2014 - 03:23 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS