Jump to content



Photo

Re-equip


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Electris

Electris

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 29 April 2014 - 01:15 PM

As far as I understand, shop items and class items are equipped in step 2 of the hero turn.

 

In 1st edition movement points could be spent to change equipment between attacks.

 

Is that not the case in 2nd edition? It seems that whatever you equip in step 2 remains until you reach step 2 of your next turn. Please confirm.

 

Thanks!



#2 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 501 posts

Posted 29 April 2014 - 01:36 PM

Whatever equipment you choose to use in step 2, you are stuck with until step 2 of your next turn. You cannot change your equipment mid-turn.



#3 amoshias

amoshias

    Member

  • Members
  • 195 posts

Posted 29 April 2014 - 04:34 PM

In general, you can assume that when given a 2nd edition rule and a 1st edition rule, you should, in fact, follow the 2nd edition rule :-)



#4 Electris

Electris

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 29 April 2014 - 04:51 PM

Thanks.

 

We were, in fact, following 2nd edition rules. I didn't allow re-equipping because the 2nd edition rules don't specify it as being allowed. I wanted to confirm that the issue wasn't addressed somewhere else such as the FAQ, etc.

 

I agree with amoshias point unless one were playing 1st edition, which in fact, 1st edition rules should be followed ;) 



#5 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 30 April 2014 - 09:32 AM

Yup, that's one of the bigger differences in 2nd Edition compared to 1st Edition. 1st edition (until one of the later expansions) had 1 of 4 things declared, (Double Move, Double Attack, Move & Attack, Ready + Move or Attack), which was pretty restricting. Any other fiddly stuff (doors, picking up tokens, etc.) was then just an expenditure of movement points, and with dungeons being bigger and more spacious, it largely meant that movement points were the primary resource.

 

In 2nd Edition, they just broke everything down into actions, and with dungeons being smaller and more confined, there's less of a reliance on movement points for everything and actions are the new resource.

 

Though I'm almost surprised that they didn't allow for re-equipping as an action. Might be something to try as a house-rule. Considering how precious actions are, I can't imagine someone trying to exploit constantly switching gear (switch to offensive gear at the beginning of your turn, attack, switch to defensive gear as your second action) being particularly effective, but there may be a few class skills that would enable it.


Edited by griton, 30 April 2014 - 09:35 AM.


#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,651 posts

Posted 30 April 2014 - 05:58 PM

In 2nd Edition, they just broke everything down into actions, and with dungeons being smaller and more confined, there's less of a reliance on movement points for everything and actions are the new resource.


Actions were always the resource in D1E as well. MPs were certainly valuable, but mainly as a means of positioning yourself to get in two attacks whenever humanly possible.

#7 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 390 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 01:34 AM

Though I'm almost surprised that they didn't allow for re-equipping as an action. Might be something to try as a house-rule. Considering how precious actions are, I can't imagine someone trying to exploit constantly switching gear (switch to offensive gear at the beginning of your turn, attack, switch to defensive gear as your second action) being particularly effective, but there may be a few class skills that would enable it.

 

There are shop cards built around this mechanic though. For instance there is a card where if you kill a monster, then opt to unequip the weapon at the end of your attack you will add 1 black defence dice to your pool.



#8 Demoncow

Demoncow

    Member

  • Members
  • 147 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 07:39 AM

It's called guardian axe, and gives two shields to your roll, not a black to your pool.
  • walkinstube likes this
Demoncow: He who has become a marauder.

#9 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 390 posts

Posted 06 May 2014 - 04:02 AM

It's called guardian axe, and gives two shields to your roll, not a black to your pool.

 

Sorry my bad, was just going from (bad) memory

 

There is also the boomerang which utilises the mechanic


Edited by BentoSan, 06 May 2014 - 04:02 AM.


#10 Tasressurect

Tasressurect

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 09 May 2014 - 01:59 AM

One sleight of interpretation, may allow a Hero to unequip an item prior to the end of his or her turn, although as mentioned above, items may only be equipped once per turn, and this is after dealing with start of turn affects and before his or her actions.

 

This would be to protect against Dark Charm, where an Overlord may play the card and force the Hero to attack them self.

 

Personally, I think this would go on the wall of cheese. 



#11 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,651 posts

Posted 09 May 2014 - 07:46 AM

One sleight of interpretation, may allow a Hero to unequip an item prior to the end of his or her turn, although as mentioned above, items may only be equipped once per turn, and this is after dealing with start of turn affects and before his or her actions.


Perhaps I'm misunderstanding you here, but there's no rule allowing a hero to unequip items at the end of his turn. You can't just do this on the basis that "unequip" is different from "equip."

 

You can't do anything unless there's a specific rule that says you can.



#12 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 645 posts

Posted 09 May 2014 - 02:31 PM

This topic gaves me an idea for a cool skill for a homemade class : the rogue.

Since Raythen and Serena are heroes, they could come with their own class. I'm going to make this happens.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS