Jump to content



Photo

New Player - Alignment Question


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ShotGun Jolly

ShotGun Jolly

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 10:16 AM

Hey all..

 

Just recently decided to jump into GMing Black Crusade and I got a couple of questions. Maybe I missed it in the FAQ/Errata but I am having trouble understanding something.

In the character creation chapters, it talks about alignments to a particular path of Chaos. And it states that when you make a corruption check 10 30..etc.. .. if you are 5 or more advances in a particular path you become aligned to that path.

In the next section, where you choose your devotion it says when ever you have 3 or more advances you are said to be devoted to that path..

Is there a difference between aligned and devoted?? if so what is it...?

Or is it a typo and it was meant to be the same 5 or 3, and if so what would it be?

 

Looking for some clarity..Think any of you vets could help me out?

 



#2 Calgor Grim

Calgor Grim

    Member

  • Members
  • 477 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 02:40 PM

Page 75 (Core), bottom left corner says that players check their alignment to the dark gods every 10 corruption points, so at 10, 20, 30 etc.

 

When the character hits one of these thresholds, they must check if they have five or more advances to any one Chaos god over the others. At which point if they do, they become Aligned to that god, basically meaning they are on the path to devotion to that god. This just makes a few skills/talents cheaper and others more expensive. It is also easier to withdraw from alignment as there are no repercussions from changing from one alignment to neutral or another entirely. Any reference to threes on the alignment is probably a spelling error. The Errata is a bit out of date...

 

Devotion however is a different matter entirely. My interpretation on this is a little rusty as it says you need 20 advances down a particular path. Our lot do it as 20 advances total (excluding the initial ones) and still having five more to one god than any of the others. Once this criteria has been met, you dont take a check and you dont need to wait for a threshold, that god generally looks upon you and grants you his mark to recognise your devotion to his (or her in the case of Slaanesh on the odd day) ways. Devotion however comes with higher risks and you are expected to maintain that devotion. If you fail to maintain your alliegance to that god then the Gifts of the Gods kicks in and the mark is removed.

 

Does that help any?


Loyal Missionary Father Grim of the Kingston 293rd Storm Troopers


#3 ShotGun Jolly

ShotGun Jolly

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 06:07 PM

I think the main issue I had was in one place in the book it states 3 advancements and another it says 5. After looking at all the examples, im pretty sure they meant to say 5. It all falls into place now. Thanks for the response.

#4 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 1,884 posts

Posted 27 April 2014 - 02:38 AM

Maybe if you could be more precise as to where the supposed error is, we could help more with clarifying whether it's an error or a misunderstanding.


Real men earn their fun

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.


#5 ShotGun Jolly

ShotGun Jolly

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 27 April 2014 - 09:11 AM

the first paragraph on page 84 is where it says 3 advancements. Pretty sure that 3 is meant to be 5.

#6 Keffisch

Keffisch

    Member

  • Members
  • 891 posts

Posted 28 April 2014 - 02:44 AM

That is likely a mistake, as the example below outline the need for 5 advancements.



#7 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 03 May 2014 - 06:24 PM

There's a 99% chance that any reference to "Devotion" or "3" is just an editing error, and is supposed to be Aligned (i.e. 5 advances of a certain god over any other) and 5, so ignore the part about "3 advances = devotion".

 

I can only remember a single god-specific psychic power that uses "devoted" instead of "aligned", and that's sure as hell an another editing error (seeing how you're not aligned if you've only got 3 advances, and therefore can't even get the powers in the first place).

 

It's only Alignment that means anything,in addition to when you have bought at least 20 advances of a god, and have at least 5 more than any other - in which case you're granted a Mark.


Edited by BrotharTearer, 03 May 2014 - 06:24 PM.


#8 ShotGun Jolly

ShotGun Jolly

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:29 PM

Thanks all




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS