Jump to content



Photo

Fire Control System, Torpedoes and Missiles?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 McBain

McBain

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 08:37 PM

"After you perform an attack, you may acquire a target lock on the defender."

 

Can this work:

 

B-Wing with Proton Torps vs Bad guy at Range 3.

 

Round 1: Shoots bad guy normally and aquires target lock.

 

Round 2: B-Wing focus and shoots Bad guy at Range 2 with Torps (expending Target lock). Rolls 4 blanks.

 

Question is this: Does he acquire the Target Lock from FCS straight after he performed the attack? eg after he rolled 4 blanks and he can therefore use the target lock he just aquired to re-roll his attack dice?


Edited by McBain, 25 April 2014 - 08:38 PM.


#2 Forgottenlore

Forgottenlore

    Midnight Dreary

  • Members
  • 1,585 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 08:45 PM

No. After performing an attack means after the whole attack, unless something says otherwise. Compare his text with the upcoming tie defender pilot vessery

"When attacking, immediately after you roll attack dice, you may acquire a target lock on the defender if it already has a red target lock token."

Edited by Forgottenlore, 25 April 2014 - 08:45 PM.

Thanks, Troy

 

Once Upon a Midnight Dreary....


#3 McBain

McBain

    Member

  • Members
  • 152 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 10:15 PM

Sounds a logical interpretation.

 

Thank you



#4 DraconPyrothayan

DraconPyrothayan

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,835 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 11:19 PM

Forgottenlore is absolutely correct about the FCS/Torpedo interaction. Your title did mention Missiles, though, and Clusters famously behave oddly.

With FCS: if you get to have multiple attacks (through Gunner, Luke Skywalker, or Cluster Missiles), the FCS triggers between the two attacks.

Currently, this is only available on the Shuttle, and is alternatively called a Buzzsaw Shuttle, or the Magic White Space Cow. 
However, with B-Wings getting a crew-slot through a title, and the Tie Phantom coming with a Crew and Systems slot, this is a great thing to note. 

 

 

The full breakdown of the Gunner/FCS combo goes thusly:

  1. Declare an attack
    1. Attacker rolls dice
    2. Defender mods Attacker's dice
    3. Attacker mods own dice
    4. Defender rolls dice
    5. Attacker mods Defender's dice
    6. Defender mods own dice
  2. Pick up a Target Lock on the Defender using FCS
  3. If Step 1 resulted in 0 damage, Declare an attack with Gunner
    1. Attacker rolls dice
    2. Defender mods Attacker's dice
    3. Attacker mods own dice. Spend the Target Lock from step 2 to re-roll even one die.
    4. Defender rolls dice
    5. Attacker mods Defender's dice
    6. Defender mods own dice
  4. Pick up a Target Lock on the defender using FCS, replacing the one you ought to have spent in step 3-3.

 

 

This interaction is beautifully deadly against ships with 2-3 agility dice. Gunner-based builds suffer a bit against the 1 agility ships, as your first attack is bloody likely to hit them so Gunner doesn't get to be used often enough, but against all other comers, this shreds. 
Moreover, you don't need to use your action offensively anymore: freeing the Shuttle up to use red maneuvers, the Captain Yorr pilot ability, Saboteur, and/or Boost from the Engine Upgrade modification, while still shredding. 


Edited by DraconPyrothayan, 25 April 2014 - 11:20 PM.

  • BruceA likes this

#5 BruceA

BruceA

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 02:55 PM

I am just building some squads based on Shuttle/Firespray  combos for an escalation tournament.  think I need to re-read this to make sure it is as good as it sounds.

Thanks for the insight!

Great stuff






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS