Jump to content



Photo

Crypt Keeper question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 The Hunter

The Hunter

    Member

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 01:25 PM

An evil defeats the crypt keeper and draws the top 5 cards from the adventure deck.
Only one object is drawn, which is the holy grail.
Since evil characters can not take this, what happens to the object.
Does this get discarded, or ditched on the space where the crypt keeper was defeated?

#2 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,626 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 02:10 AM

An evil defeats the crypt keeper and draws the top 5 cards from the adventure deck.
Only one object is drawn, which is the holy grail.
Since evil characters can not take this, what happens to the object.
Does this get discarded, or ditched on the space where the crypt keeper was defeated?

 

Crypt Keeper

If you kill the Crypt Keeper you may search his tomb for treasure. Draw the top 5 Adventure Cards and take 1 Object of your choice. Discard the remaining cards. It will remain here until it is killed.

 

Checking the card's wording, it says that any remaining cards are discarded. If you cannot take any Object, then all Objects are part of the "remaining cards" and must be discarded.


Edited by The_Warlock, 26 April 2014 - 02:10 AM.


#3 Rigmaster

Rigmaster

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 03:45 AM

We play it the other way. You've to choose the holy grail, but as you can't have it you have to ditch it on your space, as if you had drawn it normally. Tough luck either way.

#4 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,626 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 07:13 AM

We play it the other way. You've to choose the holy grail, but as you can't have it you have to ditch it on your space, as if you had drawn it normally. Tough luck either way.

 

This is of course the other possible interpretation, but I tried to point out that this one is not correct in this particular case.

 

The Keeper reads "take 1 Object of your choice", not "choose 1 Object to take"; if all available Objects are Objects you cannot take, then you can neither take nor choose them. They all stay in the group of "remaining cards" and get discarded.

 

Of course if this was clear as the sun, probably the question won't have been asked, but I think that treating those cards "as if you had drawn them normally" is going a bit over the instructions as written on the card. These are not cards drawn normally, they're drawn to grant a special reward which might be either one Object or even nothing. I don't think a character can take 1 Object of his choice that he cannot have, so in that special case he cannot choose an Object and must discard everything.



#5 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,290 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 07:28 AM

Warlock is correct!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS