Jump to content



Photo

troops deploying from headquarters


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 smeehee

smeehee

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 03:15 AM

the description page states that any units in your headquarters deploy with your warlord but I was wondering if assuming you win the battle and you are not on the left most planet do those troops return to headquarters with your warlord or do they stay on the planet? 



#2 PBrennan

PBrennan

    Member

  • Members
  • 262 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 08:39 PM

Anyone who can answer these rules questions are under NDA. At least until the rules are formally released anyway.



#3 smeehee

smeehee

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 01:51 AM

i wasn't looking for a definitive ruling so much as something in the released material I missed or just speculation


Edited by smeehee, 26 April 2014 - 01:53 AM.


#4 Srgnt Kurgan

Srgnt Kurgan

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 04:49 AM

I thought on the main page it said: 

 

"If you devote yourself too much to the first planet, your opponent will build his armies on other planets. If you focus on every planet equally, however, your opponent's focused armies may defeat you, claiming the first planet every round."

 

Since it says that the opponent can "build" armies on other planets, I'm assuming that each round the units on other planets stay there, unless killed by your opponent. The units can come back to headquarters however if you "retreat" them, so I'm not fully sure.

 

Now my question is, cuz it wasn't explained, what is the "Headquarters?" I mean, is it the cards in your hand? Is it some "zone" on the playable area? And are the cards faced-up in headquarters? (I assume so they would because in description it says when the warlord goes to a planet, the army that's in the headquarters follows him to that planet).



#5 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,769 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 07:55 AM

From everything that has been posted, I simply took "Headquarters" to mean "cards in play that are not committed to any particular planet."

 

"Headquarters" can't be another name for "hand," right? I mean, do you really believe that when you send your warlord to a planet that all of the characters in your hand go with it (since units in your "headquarters" are committed along with your warlord)?



#6 Darik

Darik

    Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:27 AM

From everything that has been posted, I simply took "Headquarters" to mean "cards in play that are not committed to any particular planet."

 

"Headquarters" can't be another name for "hand," right? I mean, do you really believe that when you send your warlord to a planet that all of the characters in your hand go with it (since units in your "headquarters" are committed along with your warlord)?

Yeah, I believe HQ is the area of the table in front of each player that is NOT a particular planet. As KTOM says, it can't be your hand. Also, haven't we seen a card that refers to your "hand" by that term? I believe it was a Dark Eldar card...



#7 Srgnt Kurgan

Srgnt Kurgan

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 18 July 2014 - 09:53 AM

Yeah, seems like it can't be the cards in your hand because you have to pay the cost to play each unit or support, so it would contradict with the whole idea of resources to pay for cards to play them from your hand. Thanks!

 

Will be good to see the pdf instructions once they post it online.


  • Darik likes this

#8 Darik

Darik

    Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts

Posted 18 July 2014 - 11:20 AM

And QED -- the Pact of the Haemonculi card from the Dark Eldar preview on 7/18 says to sacrifice a unit to discard a card from your opponent's hand (at random, no less!) and draw 2 cards. So, clearly the HQ is something different than the "hand" in this game. Come on, FFG, post the rulebook already! LOL!


Edited by Darik, 23 July 2014 - 11:05 AM.


#9 WonderWAAAGH

WonderWAAAGH

    Oasean Ork

  • Members
  • 3,475 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 02:52 PM

My best guess: the HQ is a unique card, like the warlord, that is not part of the actual deck. It will be faction specific, but not tied to warlords in the way that their signature squads are. I have, admittedly, not played any of FFG's other cards games, and base this guess upon similarities to an older game called 7th Sea.


It's not easy being green.

#10 borwol

borwol

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 12:19 AM

HQ is not a card. It is just space on the table in front of each player.



#11 WonderWAAAGH

WonderWAAAGH

    Oasean Ork

  • Members
  • 3,475 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 02:22 AM

Link?
It's not easy being green.

#12 Gridash

Gridash

    Member

  • Members
  • 273 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 05:28 AM

The only thing I found was this:

 

"After a battle ends at any planet, the victor has the opportunity to trigger that planet’s Battle ability, which offers a powerful bonus. The planet Atrox Prime, for example, possesses a Battle ability that reads, “Deal 1 damage to each enemy unit at a target HQ or adjacent planet,” granting you a potent strike against the heart of your opponent’s strength. "

 

http://fantasyflight...s.asp?eidn=4858

 

Since nobody starts with planets, there has to be a place for troop gathering and these troops will move along with a warlord to a planet. That place is most likely the HQ.

 

So the cards at the HQ is a location where (at very least) units are gathered (based on the quoted text), that are not on any planet and are shown face up presumably. 


Edited by Gridash, 23 July 2014 - 05:52 AM.


#13 WonderWAAAGH

WonderWAAAGH

    Oasean Ork

  • Members
  • 3,475 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 03:02 PM

The only thing I found was this:
 
"After a battle ends at any planet, the victor has the opportunity to trigger that planet’s Battle ability, which offers a powerful bonus. The planet Atrox Prime, for example, possesses a Battle ability that reads, “Deal 1 damage to each enemy unit at a target HQ or adjacent planet,” granting you a potent strike against the heart of your opponent’s strength. "
 
http://fantasyflight...s.asp?eidn=4858
 
Since nobody starts with planets, there has to be a place for troop gathering and these troops will move along with a warlord to a planet. That place is most likely the HQ.
 
So the cards at the HQ is a location where (at very least) units are gathered (based on the quoted text), that are not on any planet and are shown face up presumably.


And since the planets are a physical location (i.e. cards), wouldn't it stand to that the HQ is as well? This is still just a guess, obviously.
It's not easy being green.

#14 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,769 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 03:14 PM

And since the planets are a physical location (i.e. cards), wouldn't it stand to that the HQ is as well? This is still just a guess, obviously.

 

I agree it stands to reason the HQ is a physical location, but I'm not sold that it is a physical location marked by a card. I mean, it could be a card, but I think we would have seen a preview picture of it by now, don't you?



#15 WonderWAAAGH

WonderWAAAGH

    Oasean Ork

  • Members
  • 3,475 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 03:26 PM

That's entirely possible, and a good question to raise. I would have thought so myself, yes. But there's a considerable amount of the game yet to be revealed; not only have relatively few cards been spoiled, but we know very little about the game rules themselves. Take this one particular topic as a good example. The HQ appears to be a very important aspect of the game, and yet we can't even answer the easiest of questions about it with any degree of certainty. We're still several months away from the game's release, I'd like to think FFG is keeping something reserved in the spoiler bin to keep us enticed beyond "here's another warlord and his signature squad."

 

Like I said, it's just a guess. It may not prove to be a very good guess, but there isn't much else we can definitively say until FFG speaks up on the matter. 


Edited by WonderWAAAGH, 23 July 2014 - 03:28 PM.

It's not easy being green.

#16 PBrennan

PBrennan

    Member

  • Members
  • 262 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 04:29 PM

So you can put the previews and cards in their proper context, HQ is just your personal play area on the table in front of you. Sorry, but there's nothing extra or special about it.



#17 WonderWAAAGH

WonderWAAAGH

    Oasean Ork

  • Members
  • 3,475 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 09:14 PM

So you can put the previews and cards in their proper context, HQ is just your personal play area on the table in front of you. Sorry, but there's nothing extra or special about it.

  

Link?


It's not easy being green.

#18 borwol

borwol

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 24 July 2014 - 12:38 AM

http://fantasyflight...esem=2&esum=256

 

Warhammer 40,000: Conquest includes:

  • over two-hundred player cards split across seven factions
  • 10 planet cards
  • 40 token cards
  • 64 tokens for tracking damage, resources, and more
  • two servo-skull command dials

No HQ cards mentioned



#19 WonderWAAAGH

WonderWAAAGH

    Oasean Ork

  • Members
  • 3,475 posts

Posted 24 July 2014 - 01:16 AM

Right, it also doesn't mention warlords, signature squads, or break down the other remaining "two-hundred player cards" by type either.


Edited by WonderWAAAGH, 24 July 2014 - 01:17 AM.

It's not easy being green.

#20 kertanos

kertanos

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 24 July 2014 - 06:13 AM

posted 1 month ago in "card count" topic :

 

 

from Edge Entertainment, the europe editor for FFG :

 

Quote

Contenu :
7 cartes seigneur de guerre, 129 cartes unité, 40 cartes d’événement, 25 cartes de soutien, 21 cartes d’attachement, 10 cartes planète, 2 cartes de référence, 40 cartes jeton, 2 cadrans de commandement, 30 jetons de dégâts, 30 jetons de ressource, 1 jeton d’initiative, 1 jeton de première planète, 1 Guide d’apprentissage, 1 Livret de référence.

 

So for those of you who don't speak french (even if it must be pretty obvious) :

 

7 Warlord cards, 129 unit cards, 40 event cards, 25 support cards, 21 attachment cards, 10 planet cards, 2 reference cards (?), 40 token cards, 2 servo skull command dials, 30 damage tokens, 30 resource tokens, 1 initiative token, 1 first planet token, 1 learning guide (i guess just a few "quick start" pages), 1 "reference book" (i assume rules book)

 

No HQ.


  • Darik and Gridash like this

French unofficial forum : http://w40kconquestjce.forumactif.org/





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS