Jump to content



Photo

when keywords like "surge" trigger


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 awp832

awp832

    Member

  • Members
  • 371 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 01:15 AM

Yes,  I have read the FAQ.   I am still confused.  

It seems to indicate surge etc. triggers any time a card is "revealed" from the deck.   But some cards do not use the "revealed" language.  For example,  Dunlending Attack,  stage 2b of the Fords of Isen mission says,  "...searches the encounter deck and discard pile for 1 different Dunland enemy and adds it to the staging area."

Nothing about "revealed".    So if I choose to add Dunland Prowler to the staging area (while I have 3+ cards in my hand)  does Surge activate?    My instinct says no,  the card was not "revealed",  so surge would not trigger.

 

Of course I said exactly the same thing about cards with Surge during setup, and according to the FAQ, Surge does indeed trigger during setup.   So I am not sure how to play.


  • Xavant likes this

#2 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 928 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 02:55 AM

It is true, like you guess. Surge (or guarded, or doomed) doesn't trigger if is only added to the staging. It must be 'revealed' for triggering.


Edited by Mndela, 25 April 2014 - 02:55 AM.

A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#3 awp832

awp832

    Member

  • Members
  • 371 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 03:10 AM

ok,   so...  just to be clear,  if during setup the text does not use the "revealed" word,   you do NOT trigger effects like surge?   Because that would make sense, but then the FAQ confused me.   But now I reread it and I think it might have just been a case of my mind going in a different direction than the author of the FAQ intended.



#4 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,316 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 08:11 AM

Yep, that's correct. Here is another example from the Against the Shadow cycle:

 

ffg_city-street-hon.jpgffg_lost-in-the-city-hon.jpg

 

If you use Lost in the City to add City Street the surge effect doesn't trigger. Which is quite neat.


Edited by leptokurt, 25 April 2014 - 08:12 AM.

  • tacomen253 and PsychoRocka like this

#5 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 928 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 08:23 AM

In setup also, if the setup text writes 'reveal x cards', you must trigger thier keywords..., if only says 'add x card into staging...' you musn't. :)


  • tacomen253 likes this

A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#6 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,375 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 01:43 PM

Yeah, whenever an effect forces me to search the encounter deck and add a card to the staging area, I always choose the 'surge' cards, basically canceling an effect that could have triggered if the card were revealed normally.


  • PsychoRocka likes this

#7 awp832

awp832

    Member

  • Members
  • 371 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 02:23 PM

ok, thanks.  got it now.



#8 PsychoRocka

PsychoRocka

    Member

  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 26 April 2014 - 01:31 AM

Yep, that's correct. Here is another example from the Against the Shadow cycle:
 
ffg_city-street-hon.jpgffg_lost-in-the-city-hon.jpg
 
If you use Lost in the City to add City Street the surge effect doesn't trigger. Which is quite neat.



When I was new to the game I saw you post this strategy elsewhere on the forums and have used it ever since

                ~Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul~

~One ring to cover the lands in complete and utter misery, one ring for the dark lord to work his wretched trickery~





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS