GMPCs

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Whitestone

Whitestone

• Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 05:22 PM

Greetings all! I'm a first time GM (of anything, much less EoTE) with a bit of experience playing before running a group of absolute newbies. They're all great players so far, they're extremely happy to be playing (they badger me almost daily to set up sessions sooner), and we have no serious complaints.

One thing I have a really big question on is the idea of GMPCs as opposed to NPCs. We've dubbed this "Pulling a Chewbacca" (a la Darths & Droids' Chewbacca after GM takes him over) because of how the GM is able to have some fun with a dedicated character. My big question is "can it be done?"

I've realized some of the risks involved. I am by no means a controlling GM (especially in tandem with how abstracted the game already is) and I am doing my very best to "flesh-out" the character in mention so thoroughly that he would do things I never would (like running into a room full of baddies because he's brash even though I know they're there.)