Tips for first time player/OL?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 ZSpark

ZSpark

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 06:08 AM

Hi. I just got this game and plan on playing it soon. I will probably have 3 heroes and have heard the OL is a bit underpowered; but I wanna win! Or at least make it challenging and fun. But I have no experience and neither does my group. We will start in campaign mode from the beginning. Any tips for all of us as new players like how to best teach the game, any resource print offs that may help, ect?

Also I got the splig LP, should I use him/plot deck in first campaign? We are usually good with more complications, rules.

Thanks in advance!

#2 Indalecio

Indalecio

• Members
  • 230 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 06:22 AM

To give you a short answer, as the OL just make sure you prepare your quests carefully (what the objectives are, so you can get the right focus) and select your open groups in consequence. Once your players have decided which heroes/classes they will be taking, have a peak at their overall strengths and weaknesses so you can pick your OL/plot cards accordingly. Most of this will come with time, after a couple of quests you will have a clear view of which heroes are taking which role, what they are good at or weak against etc. Start with Basis I OL deck first and just spare your first XP until you know where you want to spend them.

But on a general note, as long as you have a feel about the quest and you don't just mess up with everything, you don't have to spend tons of time brainstorming. If the dices fail you you're toast anyway, lol. Just try to make informed decisions with the knowledge and experience you've got and you'll be fine (eg you'll have fun). Experience comes rather fast as an OL, you see which monsters are the better ones, you see which OL cards have done the most job etc.