Jump to content



Photo

Shooting into engagement.


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 crazyjohnsmith

crazyjohnsmith

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 02:36 AM

My assumption is that this is allowed - unit is shooting into melee in which it is not involved.

If the shot scatters it will get resolved against closest disk which is either 'pinning' or 'pinned'. Now lets assume the scatter hits and kills the disk (in this case that would be your own unit!) - does anyone get VP for that disk?



#2 MechaBri.Zilla

MechaBri.Zilla

    Member

  • Members
  • 241 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 07:19 AM

Your assumption is correct.  A ranged disk can fire into a scrum.  In fact, if it is the top disk it can fire at the disk it is pinning as well.

 

As for the VP.  If your opponent has the objective that gives VP based on the total number of disks in your casualty pile at the end of the game, then yes, he would receive a VP for the disk you killed with friendly fire.


Edited by MechaBri.Zilla, 23 April 2014 - 07:19 AM.

  • Ser Folly and crazyjohnsmith like this

#3 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 232 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 07:30 AM

 

As for the VP.  If your opponent has the objective that gives VP based on the total number of disks in your casualty pile at the end of the game, then yes, he would receive a VP for the disk you killed with friendly fire.

 

Keep in mind that you have the pile consisting of your own casualties in your Play area. These casualties count for all enemies who get VP for enemy casualties. So you might help all others when scattering a rain of arrows on your brave little infantry. Or if you use that imperial cannon that destroys itself. Used it in one game: no hit but destroyed in less than no time of its own making :angry:


  • MechaBri.Zilla likes this

Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#4 Unskium

Unskium

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 April 2014 - 03:09 AM

A further question, if I may.

 

When firing, must the attack always happen against the topmost disk in the Engagement? For an instance, if in a three player game I'd want to shoot the disk being Pinned instead of the Pinning disk, would that be possible or must the target always be the Pinning disk?

 

Additionally, if firing into a Scrum, if I am able to fire at a disk in the middle of the Scrum and I roll a Scatter, to whom does it Scatter if there are multiple enemies from different players within the same distance of the original target, i.e. all Pinning or being Pinned by the target disk.



#5 MechaBri.Zilla

MechaBri.Zilla

    Member

  • Members
  • 241 posts

Posted 28 April 2014 - 06:38 AM

You can fire at any disk you want, as long as it is within range.  No matter if it is pinned or pinning.

 

As for your second question.  The rule reads like this:

 

• A disk overlapped by or overlapping the target disk is eligible for 
scatter. The closest disk is always a disk engaged with the target disk. 
If more than one disk is engaged with the target, the closest disk is the 
one that is most overlapped by or overlapping the target.
 
This should take care of 99.9% of your issues, because of the way the disks move, there will almost always be a disk that is more overlapping/overlapped than the others.  I don't see anything in the faq or rules that would help if all the disks were covering about the same amount of area.

  • Unskium likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS