Jump to content



Photo

Into Fangorn Setup


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Khamul The Easterling

Khamul The Easterling

    Member

  • Members
  • 599 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 07:57 PM

So in Into Fangorn setup, it says to:

 

Add Edge of Fangorn to staging area - OK

Attach Mugash to Edge of Fangorn - Mugash is Guarded, but we are attaching him to an already revealed location (Edge of Fangorn) 

 

So, do I add Mugash to Edge of Fangorn and that is sufficient for his text "Guarded"?  Or do I attach him to Edge of fangorn AND add another guard making it 3 cards stacked?

Or do I attach Mugash to Edge of Fangorn, Explore Edge of Fangorn, Put Mugash back in staging area and reveal a new card for his guarded keyword?

 

Quite confusing to me......

Thanks,

Khamul


Now at that time the Chieftain of the Ringwraiths dwelt in Minas Morgul with six companions, while the second to the Chief, Khamul the Shadow of the East, abode in Dol Guldur as Sauron's Lieutenant, with one other as his messenger."  - Unfinished Tales


#2 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 642 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 04:37 AM

Rule Book p 24:

The guarded keyword is a reminder on some objective
cards to reveal and attach the next card of the encounter
deck to the objective when it enters the staging area
from the encounter deck
 
FAQ 1.01:
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be
resolved any time the card on which they occur is
revealed from the encounter deck, including during
setup.
 
Since Mugash is not revealed nor does he enter the staging area "from the encounter deck" during the setup then his guarded keyword technically does not trigger so you only attach him as instructed. I guess the guarded is for the eventuality that he gets shuffled into the encounter deck.
You do not attach a card to Mugash when you explore Edge of Fangorn. Mugash is not at this point being revealed so guarded does not trigger.

Edited by Nerdmeister, 23 April 2014 - 04:39 AM.


#3 Khamul The Easterling

Khamul The Easterling

    Member

  • Members
  • 599 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 07:32 AM

Hmmm. OK. Still, I think it's odd he has Guarded JUST for the chance of being in the encounter deck AND being revealed.  That just doesn't seem right.........

 

Well, if that's how you guys are all playing it, I'll do it too.

Thanks


Now at that time the Chieftain of the Ringwraiths dwelt in Minas Morgul with six companions, while the second to the Chief, Khamul the Shadow of the East, abode in Dol Guldur as Sauron's Lieutenant, with one other as his messenger."  - Unfinished Tales


#4 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 642 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 11:56 PM

Hmmm. OK. Still, I think it's odd he has Guarded JUST for the chance of being in the encounter deck AND being revealed.  That just doesn't seem right.........

 

Well it is quite possible in this scenario as Mugash will get shuffled back into the encounter deck if you run out of time counters on the quest card.



#5 monkeyrama

monkeyrama

    Member

  • Members
  • 167 posts

Posted 27 April 2014 - 06:39 AM

Also, if the hero guarding him is damaged, Mugash pops back onto the top of the encounter deck, and is then revealed next staging and is guarded. It's a neat mechanic, and actually almost lost me a game one time.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS