Jump to content



Photo

Tournament scoring


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Kevinbayne

Kevinbayne

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 02:13 PM

Please explain how a tournament should score because been to two different ones and both scored differently?

#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,132 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 02:53 PM

It's in the tournament rules document on the support page.

4 points per win extra point for winning both games in a match with the new rules. Yours was likely under the old rules which would see

Win both games, 8-0
Win 1 game each, 5-4. Extra point to the tiebreaker which changed depending on which side both players won as.

#3 chiller087

chiller087

    Member

  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 05:33 PM

Also, games that go to time without a determined winner are scored as a draw, 2 points to each player.  If the first game goes to time, the 2nd game is not played, and therefore not scored at all.



#4 MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Member

  • Members
  • 662 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 08:11 PM

9 points - you win both games (4+4+1)

6 points - you win 1 game and the second goes to time (4+2)

5 points - each player wins 1 (and you win better) (4+1)

4 points - each player wins 1 (and your opponent wins better) (4)

2 points - either a) you lose 1 game and the second goes to time OR b) no one wins a game and it goes to time

0 points - you lose both games


Welcome to the machine!


#5 Valdrain

Valdrain

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 04:14 AM

9 points - you win both games (4+4+1)

6 points - you win 1 game and the second goes to time (4+2)

5 points - each player wins 1 (and you win better) (4+1)

4 points - each player wins 1 (and your opponent wins better or is a true draw) (4)

2 points - either a) you lose 1 game and the second goes to time OR b) no one wins a game and it goes to time

0 points - you lose both games

 

fix it for you  ;)



#6 KennedyHawk

KennedyHawk

    Member

  • Members
  • 244 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 08:08 AM

Please explain how a tournament should score because been to two different ones and both scored differently?

 

Can you tell us what the differences were maybe we can explain them. I've found it can be very confusing when one tournament does a top cut and the other doesn't.


Edited by KennedyHawk, 23 April 2014 - 08:09 AM.

  • Toqtamish likes this

#7 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,132 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 10:42 AM

I would be interested in knowing the differences also.

#8 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,324 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 11:59 AM

It's also worth noting that the above posts represent the recent changes that make the 3rd version of the scoring system.

 

Version 1: Used until about GenCon last year, half the points for winning games (2 vs 4) and for timed games (1 vs 2), still 1 point for winning tie breaker, no bonus point for winning both games (so a sweep was 4 points total).

 

Version 2: Used from GenCon last year through the end of Store Championships this year, basically same as previously posted points but without the bonus point for winning both games (so a sweep was worth 8 points instead of 9).

 

Version 3: As described in previous posts, just implemented earlier this month.  It would not surprise me if some local playgroups had not adopted this yet but you can expect to see it used at any Regional tournament you go to this year.



#9 Kevinbayne

Kevinbayne

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 04:58 PM

One tourney was ls destroyed 2 objectives then dial went to 12 switched same player ds dial went to 12 other ls player destroyed 2 objectives so called draw cause both ls destroyed equal then if ls destroyed 1 dial went to 12 switch other ls player destroyed 2 dial at 12 other player got true win

Other tourney one ls destroyed 1 dial went 12 switch ls destroyed 2 dial went 12 they called it draw

#10 chiller087

chiller087

    Member

  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 05:12 PM

So both players won with their DS decks?  If that's true, then you count ALL objectives destroyed by both LS and DS decks, in both games.  So in the first tourney, the LS destroyed 2 objectives, but how many objectives did the DS destroy in each game?

 

Also in the other tourney, how many objectives did the DS destroy in each game?



#11 Kevinbayne

Kevinbayne

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 06:43 PM

First question maybe 2 or three

Second question 2

#12 chiller087

chiller087

    Member

  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 05:31 PM

So FIRST TOURNEY, game 1:

 

Player #1 LS destroyed 2 objectives

Player #2 DS destroyed: 2 and dial to 12?

 

Switch sides, game 2

 

Player #2 LS destroyed 2

Player #1 DS destroyed 2 and dial to 12? 

 

If this is true, both players destroyed 4 objectives each, so this is a true draw.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

OTHER TOURNEY, Game 1

 

Player #1 LS destroyed 1

Player #2 DS destroyed 2 and dial to 12?

 

Switch sides, game 2

 

Player #2 LS destroyed 2

Player #1 DS destroyed 2 and dial to 12? 

 

If this is true, then Player #2 wins because he destroyed four objectives, but player #1 only destroyed three.



#13 Rogue 4

Rogue 4

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 27 April 2014 - 12:20 PM

So, a person with a bye gets 8 or 9 points?

Millennium Falcon, Rebel Transport, Tantive IV, A-Wing x2, B-wing, E-Wing, X-wing x4, Y-wing, Z95 Headhunter x2, HWK-290, TIE Fighter x 5, TIE Advanced x1, TIE Bomber, x1, TIE Interceptor x1, TIE Defender, TIE Phantom,  Imperial Aces, Slave I, Lambda Shuttle

 


#14 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,132 posts

Posted 27 April 2014 - 12:28 PM

So, a person with a bye gets 8 or 9 points?


9

#15 Kevinbayne

Kevinbayne

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 30 April 2014 - 05:23 PM

In your second example they called that draw

#16 comicthoughts

comicthoughts

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 11 May 2014 - 06:58 AM

For "dial scoring", can the total be above 12? (For tie breaking purposes?)

#17 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,324 posts

Posted 11 May 2014 - 11:16 AM

For "dial scoring", can the total be above 12? (For tie breaking purposes?)


No, but that wouldn't matter for tie breaking anyways as dial only matters if the LS wins both games, which means that the dial must be 11 or lower.

#18 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,409 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 02:52 AM

Actually, I see nothing in either the Core rules or the tournament rules about the dial not being allowed to exceed 12 (or 16 in 2 vs 2). On the contrary, the Core rules state "If the Death Star dial reaches a value of 12 or greater, the DS player immediately wins the game." and "If the Death Star dial reaches or exceeds 12 at any time, the game immediately ends and the DS player wins."

 

But, like you said, it doesn't matter for tiebreaking.


  • Toqtamish likes this

#19 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,324 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 06:19 AM

Actually, I see nothing in either the Core rules or the tournament rules about the dial not being allowed to exceed 12 (or 16 in 2 vs 2). On the contrary, the Core rules state "If the Death Star dial reaches a value of 12 or greater, the DS player immediately wins the game." and "If the Death Star dial reaches or exceeds 12 at any time, the game immediately ends and the DS player wins."
 
But, like you said, it doesn't matter for tiebreaking.

Fair enough... Depends on whether you interpret the dial as moving one click at a time or by jumps when moving by more than one (as in, can the game interrupt the movement of the dial by 3 to end the game at 12 instead of after it finishes and is at 14?). Doesn't matter whatsoever though.

#20 chiller087

chiller087

    Member

  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 14 May 2014 - 08:53 AM

In your second example they called that draw

 

Then they were wrong.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS