Jump to content



Photo

Consolidate Power Inquiry


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,320 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 01:15 PM

Lords and Ladies of Westeros,

 

     I've read through the rules and have one question in multiple parts (at the moment) regarding Consolidate Power rules.   The examples used on-line and in the rules seem to indicate that if a player places a Consolidate Power token in an area containing the "Crown" icon, the player receives 2 Power Tokens.   Here's the question, with multiple parts:

 

How many Power Tokens does a player receive if the player places...

  • a Consolidate Power token in an area with no "Crown" icon?
  • any other (or no) token in an area with a "Crown" icon?

     I'm trying to reconcile the various answers...it seems evident to me that there must be a way of garnering 0 or even 1 Power Token, but it's not completely clear.

 

     Thanks in advance for your assistance.

 

Cheers,

Joe


Edited by The Professor, 22 April 2014 - 01:16 PM.

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#2 SFRR

SFRR

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 01:41 PM

A player placing a CP Order in a space with no crown symbol printed there receives 1 PT.

A player placing a CP order in a space with 1, or more, crown symbols, receives 1 PT + 1 PT for each

crown symbol in the space.  If a CP Order token is placed in King's Landing for example, that player would

receive 3 PT's; alternatively if a CP Order token is placed in a space with 1 crown symbol, the player placing the CP Order token would receive 2 PT's.

 

Ships in ports, if the adjacent sea space is friendly-controlled, or free of opponent ships, generates 1 PT when

a CP Order token is placed there.

 

All of the above assume the CP Order token is not raided, and survives to the resolve CP Order step of the Action Phase.

 

The CP* Order token (or "Special" CP Order token), presuming the given player is allowed to place Star Order tokens, when placed in a space with a Castle or Stronghold, allows the placing player to muster units based on the muster points of the respective Castle or Stronghold: a Castle renders 1 muster point, a Stronghold renders 2 muster points.  Again, the CP* Order token must survive to the resolve CP Orders step of the Action Phase; ie, it must not be raided nor removed due to the space being successfully invaded by an opponent player.

 

You are probably already aware of this, but remember that Order tokens may not be placed in spaces that do not have units in them, a garrison or a PT placed on the game board to establish control do not allow the placement of Order tokens, only when a unit is present may an Order token be placed in a given space by the respective player.


(SFRR) aka Siferr Stark


#3 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 396 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 01:44 PM

How many Power Tokens does a player receive if the player places...
  • a Consolidate Power token in an area with no "Crown" icon?
  • any other (or no) token in an area with a "Crown" icon?

 

If you place a CP Order in an Area with no Crown, you get 1 Power

 

If you place any other Order (or no Order) in an Area with a Crown, you get 0 Power.

 

If you place a CP Order in King's Landing (2 Crowns Printed), you get 3 Power.

 

During the Consolidate Power Orders Step (Step 4 of the Action Phase), CP Orders are resolved.  If you have no such Orders, you do not resolve them, which means you get no Power.



#4 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,320 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 05:58 PM

kauai1964,

 

     Thank you for your response.  Again, I didn't see it as clearly in the text as what you've provided here.

 

SFRR,

 

     I appreciate delving a bit deeper into other examples, as well!

 

Cheers,

Joe


The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#5 Doug Stark

Doug Stark

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 07:59 PM

I have a question about the special consolidate power token: If it's placed on a castle or stronghold like King's Landing or Dragonstone and the player chooses to use it's mustering ability:
1. Does the player get the points of mustering provided by the castle or stronghold (2 points in the cases of King's Landing and Dragonstone) AND also the additional power tokens from the icons that are printed on the areas of the castle/stronghold that would be gained plus the one power token for the consolidate power token if it had used it's normal ability? OR
2. Does the player get the points of mustering, and then ignore the printed power icons despite having played a consolidate power order?



#6 Doug Stark

Doug Stark

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 08:00 PM

I also have a question about pillaging:
1. Does one get only 1 power token for raiding a consolidate power token (and your opponent must then discard one if they are able to) OR
2. Does one get 1 power token for raiding a consolidate power token AND 1 power token for each power icon printed on the area that is being raided (just as your opponent would have if they had been able to resolve their token)?
For example, if one raided a consolidate power token from King's Landing, do you get 1 power token for the pillage, or 3 power tokens total for the 1 token and the 2 printed icons (and does your opponent then discard 1, or 3, of their power tokens)?



#7 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 396 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 09:15 PM

I have a question about the special consolidate power token: If it's placed on a castle or stronghold like King's Landing or Dragonstone and the player chooses to use it's mustering ability:
1. Does the player get the points of mustering provided by the castle or stronghold (2 points in the cases of King's Landing and Dragonstone) AND also the additional power tokens from the icons that are printed on the areas of the castle/stronghold that would be gained plus the one power token for the consolidate power token if it had used it's normal ability? OR
2. Does the player get the points of mustering, and then ignore the printed power icons despite having played a consolidate power order?

Rulebook says Muster OR Consolidate.  If you Muster, you get no Power.


Edited by kauai1964, 24 April 2014 - 09:17 PM.


#8 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 396 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 09:17 PM

I also have a question about pillaging:
1. Does one get only 1 power token for raiding a consolidate power token (and your opponent must then discard one if they are able to) OR
2. Does one get 1 power token for raiding a consolidate power token AND 1 power token for each power icon printed on the area that is being raided (just as your opponent would have if they had been able to resolve their token)?
For example, if one raided a consolidate power token from King's Landing, do you get 1 power token for the pillage, or 3 power tokens total for the 1 token and the 2 printed icons (and does your opponent then discard 1, or 3, of their power tokens)?

RULEBOOK, PAGE 14:

 

If a Raid Order is used to remove an opponent’s Consolidate
Power Order token, the raiding player is said to be pillaging his
opponent. After resolving the Raid Order, the pillaging player
receives one Power token from the Power Pool and the opponent
discards one of his available power tokens to the Power Pool, if
able. The pillaging player always gains one token from the Power
Pool, even if the opponent has none available to lose.



#9 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,320 posts

Posted 25 April 2014 - 08:04 PM

kauai1964,

 

     Even though they weren't my questions, I wanted to thank you for answering them.

 

Cheers,

Joe


  • kauai1964 likes this

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS