Jump to content



Photo

Saruman´s ability


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 639 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 02:37 AM

med_saruman-voi.jpg

 

Played Hunt for Gollum nightmare the other day and I called on this bad boy to help us out. I decided to remove a Hunter from Mordor, who had a clue card attached (there were 3 clue cards in play at this point so the hunters were really annoying). During staging, another Hunter from Mordor gets revealed and we got to discussing wether or not the clue card attached to the first Hunter from Mordor is also considered to be out-of-play?

 

We both leaned towards that when you remove a card from play (or consider it to be out-of-play) then the same goes for any attachments on those cards. Much like when a card leaves play from natural causes (gets explored or killed) it also affects all the attachments on that card. So that is how we played it.

 

The wording though: the chosen enemy or location is considered to be out of play, kinda bothers me. It seems to suggest that it might only be the chosen card and not it´s attachments.

So even though we did get to the consensus that attachments are also out-of-play it still has been nagging at the back of my mind.

Anyone have some thoughts on this.



#2 Glaurung

Glaurung

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,844 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 04:04 AM

from the first view attachments will be removed with a card what he attach.....but there is can be some other solutions... if hero remove from the game all attachments in him is discarded. so Clues should back to the staging area..... good question... we need a Caleb answer

Wizard is never late.......

 

Glaurung playtrough LOTR LCG on youtube :

http://www.youtube.com/user/olegyd   


#3 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,231 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 07:21 AM

Well, if the guard of the clue card is out of play, it isn't guarded anymore. In your case the Hunter was attached to the clue card and not the other way around. So IMO the clue card looses it's attachment is is stiill in play and free available. However, what is going to happen once the Hunter returns? Is he going to return as an attachment or not? (My guess is that he won't)

 

Otherwise I tend to agree with Glaurung. If the clue card was attached to the Hunter, it should also go back to the staging area.


Edited by leptokurt, 22 April 2014 - 07:21 AM.


#4 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 703 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 09:29 AM

And attachments of Nazguls, in Black Riders? Do they discard?

 

Pale-Blade.jpg


A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#5 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,043 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 10:02 AM

You know, I think a guarded objective will just have to become unattached in this scenario.  Look at the manual text:

"An encounter card

attached to a guarded objective is dealt with in the
following method, depending on its card type:
Enemy: The enemy leaves play, either by being
defeated or as the result of a card effect.
Location: The location leaves play, either by being
fully explored or as the result of a card effect."
 
The enemy (or location) has  "left play" as "the result of a card effect."  ...right?
 
For the Nazgul attachments, I guess they get discarded?  I think official clarification would be nice here...

Edited by GrandSpleen, 22 April 2014 - 10:03 AM.


#6 Noccus

Noccus

    Member

  • Members
  • 316 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 10:52 AM

Think you got it right grandspleen.
With your rule book quote there's no need for a official ruling imo.
The clue is a objective card, and the other is a treachery.
That's the difference.
Crystal clear I say.
"Not all those who wander are lost"




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS