Jump to content



Photo

"Timed" on Search For Mugash and Orc Hunter


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 awp832

awp832

    Member

  • Members
  • 358 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 08:18 PM

So,   on the Search For Mugash card it reads:  

Time 2:  Forced:  After the last time counter is removed from this stage, shuffle the discard pile into the encounter deck and reveal 2 cards per player.   Place 2 time counters on this stage.

So,   Am I correct to say that the 2 cards/player you reveal are not added to the staging area?   Only their "when revealed" effects are triggered.    It does not say that they are added to the staging area, in contrast to say:  Ambush on the Shore 3b:  which reads:  "Reveal 2 encounter cards per player and add them to the staging area."

I figured since these cards are not revealed during the staging step of the quest phase, they are therefore not added to the staging area.   

What about Orc Hunter?  Again it says "Reveal an additional encounter card" but it does not say anything about it being added to the staging area.   Assuming you choose this option,  would the revealed card be added to the staging area?    Orc Hunter might be revealed during the staging step of the quest phase,  or he might not  (say, if he were a result of the 2 cards/player revealed after Timed2 on search for Mugash runs out).    

Is the revealed card being added to the staging area therefore dependent on what effect revealed Orc Hunter in the first place?

I find a lot of this quest to be very poorly worded and confusing,  I am a new player.
 

-thanks,

a.w.p.



#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,066 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 08:55 PM

"Reveal" and "Reveal and add to the staging area" are the same -- Caleb (designer) confirmed this awhile back (sorry, don't have a link, just memory).  Whenever a card is "revealed" you have to follow the standard procedures... for Locations and Enemies, resolve When Revealed effects and keywords, and add them to the staging area.  


Edited by GrandSpleen, 21 April 2014 - 08:55 PM.


#3 jjeagle

jjeagle

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 22 April 2014 - 12:39 AM

It's in the FAQ:

"(1.45) “Reveal” vs “Reveal and add”
Any time encounter cards are “revealed” from the 
encounter deck, the players should follow the rules for 
staging as explained on page 14 of the rulebook and 
rule (1.39) of this document.
If a card effect uses the phase “Reveal and add to the 
staging area”, it means the same as simply using the 
word “reveal”, and the above steps should still be 
followed (i.e. treachery cards should still be discarded 
after resolving its effects, unless otherwise indicated by 
the card’s text)."

"I have no help to send, therefore I must go myself."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS