Jump to content



Photo

Questions for the next FAQ - please post here


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,400 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 04:32 PM

Hi folks,

I was asked by FFG to start collecting questions for an upcoming Elder Sign FAQ project. So, if during your games you find something obscure that you think requires clarification or some situations occurred that are not covered by the revised rulebook or the latest FAQ release, please post your questions here. We could try to find a proper solution together (sometimes rules are nifty, but reasoning together helps getting all the nuances; or helps understanding better the problem) and then, if they are still obscure, I'll report them to the attention of FFG.

Also, if you received official clarifications via email, please post questions and answer here as well, so that everything can be included in the very same document.

Thanks a lot for your help :) The game is awesome, and with your help will be even better :)

JULIA


  • The Professor, klaymen_sk, Turgul01 and 2 others like this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#2 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 01:21 AM

I would love some official clarification as to whether events should generally be taken as linear (one by one as they come up) or simultaneous (because they are described as the "same step" in the rule book).  I feel like this question is key to many rules debates, such as:

 

-----the appearance of gates / discarding of trophies / devouring of investigators / addition of doom tokens of the Arkham Nights Yog-Sothoth

-----the use of stamina healing spells / unique items and the loss of stamina as per Ithaqua's special ability

-----At Midnight effects of adventures such as Transported by Magic when combined with Mythos cards such as The Arcane Art...Closes the Doors

 

And I'm sure that there are many more that I'll edit this post or post again to include as I think of them.


  • The Professor and Julia like this

#3 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,400 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 01:33 AM

Yes, indeed, this is a solid point. Same for "At Midnight effects": which ones are resolved first, the one on Mythos cards or the one on Adventure cards? And so on.

 

I noted your questions, thanks for help


  • ObsessiveGamer likes this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#4 xfoley8

xfoley8

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 03:36 PM

How about, if your investigator is cursed and you roll a terror result on a single green die and the curse die, and fail to resolve a task, do you resolve the teror effect first before removing the terror result, or do you remove the terror result first, thus negating the terror effect? My personal take has always been to resolve the terror effect first and then remove the green die from your pool, but would like to see an official ruling.

Edited by xfoley8, 23 April 2014 - 06:11 PM.

  • The Professor, Julia and ObsessiveGamer like this

#5 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,400 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 04:00 PM

Same here, but good question. Noted, thanks


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#6 klaymen_sk

klaymen_sk

    Member

  • Members
  • 365 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 03:05 AM

How about, if your investigator is cursed and you roll a terror result on a single green die and the curse die, and fail to resolve a task, do you resolve the teror effect first before removing the terror result, or do you remove the terror result first, thus negating the terror effect? My personal take has always been to resolve the terror effect first and then remove the green die from your pool, but would like to see an official ruling.

 

I think the rules are pretty clear here:

 

Page 3, 3rd paragraph explaining the Cursed mechanics

 

After each roll (and after all rerolls, abilities, or terror effects have been resolved), if the investigator's black die matches the result of any other die in his dice pool, he discards the black die and the matching die from his dice pool.

 

Emphasis mine.


  • Julia likes this

"To each of us falls a task. And all the Emperor requires of us Guardsmen is that we stand in line, and we die fighting. It is what we do best: we die standing."

-General Sturnn, Cadian 412th regiment


#7 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,400 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 03:12 AM

Yep, good catch, thanks.

 

I think most of the possible issues are about the order in which effects are resolved. Even though rules are (not always, but sometimes) clear, the info are scattered in a way that could require clarification in order to be more readable. Some examples:

 

- at midnight effects: which is resolved first?

- dice: killing a monster locking a die will make that die immediately available or not? (rules seem to say no; the BGG is divided; one entry in the old FAQ seems to suggest yes)

- terror effects and dice (to be secured on spells and so on)

 

so that I think that, if possible, a couple of entries addressing these effects could clarify / streamline everything (FAQ shouldn't only answer unanswered questions, but work on avoiding the same questions are repeated over and over again. So yeah, if it's in the rules, good, but if several people ask the same, an FAQ entry could work)


  • ObsessiveGamer likes this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#8 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,342 posts

Posted 24 April 2014 - 04:27 AM

Julia,

 

     The "releasing a die from a monster for use" is one in which I play that it's immediately available, but I'm glad to see it will be added to the next FAQ.

 

Ciao,

Joe


  • Julia likes this

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#9 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 02 May 2014 - 09:27 PM

I am also eager to see what the verdict on defeated-monster-die-availability is.

 

Do we have a timeline for this?  When can we expect this new FAQ to be released?  Are you just waiting for enough days to go by in which there are no new questions on this board, or do we have a cutoff date, or what?

 

Or am I asking questions to which there are as of yet no answers?



#10 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 02 May 2014 - 09:29 PM

I was asked by FFG

 

Also, I am curious.  Do you work for FFG, know FFG people, or are you just so prolific on the forums that you are acknowledged as the leader that you are of us, your loyal flock?  :)



#11 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 03 May 2014 - 03:24 AM

Maybe there's already an official ruling on this, but I don't see it.

 

The situation: have an Other World adventure in play with 2 monsters on it.  Draw the Mythos Insight card "The Way Closes..." (Discard one Other World card (of the players' choice)) "...Or Darkness Descends" (three monsters appear).

 

The question: if you choose to discard the other world card, do the monsters get discarded as well, or do they get sent to other adventures?

 

The "A Fresh Start..." Mythos Insight card says to discard all Adventure cards, Other World cards, and monster markers, then draw 6 new Adventures.

 

The Dragon's Eye unique item specifically says to discard one Adventure card, along with all monsters on it, to get a new one.

 

The common item Museum Map also says to discard 1 Adventure card, along with all monsters on it, replacing it with a new Adventure card.

 

These three all specify what to do with the monsters, but the Mythos Insight card in question does not.  An oversight?  Regardless, what's the ruling?


  • Julia likes this

#12 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 05:24 AM

Thought of another one: "discard" vs. "spend."  I'm particularly thinking of Jenny and Ithaqua, but I'm fairly certain this distinction has come up in other situations as well.  If Jenny "discards" a spell to gain the red and yellow dice, does she also lose 1 stamina for "spending" a spell?


  • Julia likes this

#13 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,342 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 10:02 AM

ObsessiveGamer,

 

     That's one of the classic FFG editing issues.  They use terms interchangeably with little or no regard for its impact on play.  I'm particularly sensitive to this type of writing inconsistency as a war game play-tester and editor.  Great catch!

 

Cheers,

Joe


  • Julia and ObsessiveGamer like this

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#14 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,400 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 04:29 PM

Obsessive Gamer,

 

I can't help you with your query related to when the FAQ will be released, or until when we have time to gather questions. I think the best we all can do as a community is: after acknowledging the fact a new FAQ will be released, trying to figure out what the problems with the actual rules are so that all the really difficult questions are asked in the shortest time possible. As for your second query, I'm no leader of anyone, I'm just a fellow boardgamer like anyone else here, but yes, I was asked by FFG to open this thread and start collecting questions, and after a while I'm supposed to send to the responsible for the game-line the questions.

 

I'll look at your questions tomorrow, with some more time. But thanks for posting them :) As for the "when dice locked on monsters are returned to the pool": it's already listed as FAQ.

 

JULIA


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#15 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 04:37 AM

Okay, here's another one.  On adventures that have tasks that consist solely of subtracting sanity and/or stamina, are you supposed to roll to complete this task?  (An example is the first task of Dreaming of a Stranger, which requires -1 Stamina and -1 Sanity.)  This would frequently be meaningless (unless you're playing Tibs' skill dice variant, but that's for another thread).  A couple of situations in which rolling could help:

 

1) If you're seeking something to secure on a spell, could you roll, since you're technically completing a task, decide if you want any of the results you rolled for your spell, and then take away the sanity and stamina and complete the task?

2) Or Jim Culver could be searching for something to focus or assist with, since he can do this on successful tasks, and then the sanity and stamina could be taken away and the task completed.

 

There might be other situations in which this would be helpful, but those are the only two I can think of right now...


  • Julia likes this

#16 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,400 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 06:10 AM

Could be interesting for Amanda's ability as well. And to check whether the Curse die creates some odd interactions and is discarded together with another die or remains in the pool.


  • ObsessiveGamer likes this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#17 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 03:37 PM

[I'm sorry for the nonstop posts, but I am the queen of finding nitpicky ways to question the rules and they drive me nuts.  Thanks for providing an outlet.  I really do appreciate it.]

 

Has the unofficial information given by Richard Launius as stated here: http://boardgamegeek...8114854#8114854 ever been officially confirmed and / or denied?

 

I know this was kind of addressed in the previous FAQ, but I feel some questions remain unanswered, such as: does playing Bind Monster or the Flute count as a successfully completed task, negating your need to discard a die if your roll sucked (and also preventing you from completing any other task without rolling again (though if your roll was so bad that you need the spell to defeat the monster, I can't see this actually coming up too often except in the situations I stated in the last post: spells, Jim, curse die as pointed out by Julia, etc.) unless you're Amanda)?

 

There are arguments either way.  The FAQ states that "all of that monster's tasks are considered to be completed," which implies that you completed a task - so you would think all of the "you completed a task" rules apply.  But then the fact that the monster need "not necessarily [be] at the same adventure his investigator is at" (which is the opposite of what Launius said) implies that this card exists kind of outside of normal task completion, and might not apply in the same way.



#18 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,400 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 04:18 PM

Can't help you with it right now, too many projects running with too early deadlines to look at this one in detail. I noted your questions (and nope, I'm not aware of Richard's post being officialized, but I could be wrong) and think about that / how to word them. Sorry I can't help you more now, but thanks for the questions. Be nicky as much as possible, so that, once and for all, all issues can be clarified :)


  • ObsessiveGamer likes this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#19 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,342 posts

Posted 06 May 2014 - 05:29 AM

Obsessive Gamer,

 

     To your question regarding the use of a Spell to complete a Task ~ I can't think of a ruling that would say...no, you can defeat the monster, but you must discard a die.  Maybe I'm being indignant, but I wouldn't play it that way.  Now, I have to admit...I only permit the defeat of monsters in Adventures which the Investigator(s) finds himself.

 

Cheers,

Joe


The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#20 ObsessiveGamer

ObsessiveGamer

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 06 May 2014 - 03:12 PM

Haha, alright.  Thanks for your input, Joe.  So you would also say that you could complete a task in addition to using the spell in a roll, then?  Since the spell use exists outside of the dice rolling?

 

I'll be curious as to what FFG says when the day comes that this FAQ comes out.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS