Jump to content



Photo

Magic Lamp


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Biergarden

Biergarden

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 05:57 PM

Can you use the Magic Lamp after you have used a fate. The card first calls it's action a wish and later goes on to describe it as changing the roll by using a fate. The card seems to have two meanings.



#2 adjogi

adjogi

    Member

  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 07:10 PM

You can only use fate "once per die roll".

 

If you have already used a fate token of your own to re-roll a die you cannot then use a fate from the Magic Lamp to re-roll the die again.

 

Best just to use the Magic Lamp to begin with and therefore guarantee the outcome!


Edited by adjogi, 20 April 2014 - 07:11 PM.

  • Ferras likes this

Welcome to "Monsters & Magic", a NJ based Talisman Game Club!

www.njtalisman.com


#3 Biergarden

Biergarden

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 11:40 PM

It's confusing because the fate is defined as a wish in the first sentence of the card. 


Edited by Biergarden, 20 April 2014 - 11:41 PM.


#4 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,736 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 02:39 AM

Let's have a closer look:

 

Magic Lamp

The genie of the lamp is slave to no man for long; use your wishes wisely. Place 3 fate on the Magic Lamp when you draw it. After you roll, you may spend 1 fate from this card to change the result of 1 die to a result of your choice. When there is no more fate on this card immediately place 3 fate on the Magic Lamp and pass it to the character to your left.

 

First sentence is flavour text, so just ignore it if it confuses you.

The card says to use 3 fate tokens as counters to place on the lamp (of course they are not fate points that can be spent like fate). They are spent as instructed by the card, which means they change a roll to the result of your choice (not re-rolling).

 

You may always use the Magic Lamp to change the result of a roll. You may even do this when the roll has been rerolled with fate, or even if Misfortune has been cast and the die has automatically rolled a 1. The instructions "cannot be rerolled" are not applicable here, because you're not rerolling anything.

 

A small clarifications from FFG is perhaps needed to confirm whether a result rerolled with fate can be altered with the Lamp, since the rules say that "If a player pays a fate token to reroll a die, he must accept the new result; he may not pay another fate token to reroll the same die again".  I believe this rule has been added to avoid multiple rerolls of the same die, but I don't think it should limit the Magic Lamp in any way.


Edited by The_Warlock, 21 April 2014 - 02:43 AM.

  • Nioreh and Biergarden like this

#5 Biergarden

Biergarden

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 12:53 PM

Your concept is the same as mine in relation to the fate tokens being used as counters and not, in spirit, fate at all.

 

That being established, a wish from the lamp, would certainly be able to change your fate roll to whatever number you see fit.



#6 Biergarden

Biergarden

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 01:00 PM

You can only use fate "once per die roll".

 

If you have already used a fate token of your own to re-roll a die you cannot then use a fate from the Magic Lamp to re-roll the die again.

 

Best just to use the Magic Lamp to begin with and therefore guarantee the outcome!

 

 

 

The fate isn't being re-rolled. The wish will change the fate roll to whatever number you wish it to be. So there is no double rolling your fate.

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS