Jump to content



Photo

Saving a dying hero through healing?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 7theye

7theye

    Member

  • Members
  • 139 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 01:31 PM

Can you do this? A mate of mine just took 5 damage to beregond but then exhausted warden to remove a 2 tokens (via Elrond) and left beregond with 3 damage tokenss.

Is this legal? Can you heal a hero once he has more damage then hit points or is he automatically dead at that point?

#2 shipwreck

shipwreck

    Member

  • Members
  • 194 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 02:39 PM

He dead.

 

If you look at the rules (there's a handy quick reference here that seems to be accurate), there is no player action window after damage is dealt and Warden is an action. Sorry, Beregond!


  • PsychoRocka likes this

#3 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,375 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 06:05 PM

But just for fun, you could do this to save Beregond:

 

M1838.png

 

In that case it's a response, and it cancels those two point of damage (so the game proceeds as if those 2 damage tokens were never placed).



#4 Glaurung

Glaurung

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,202 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 12:43 AM

But just for fun, you could do this to save Beregond:
 
M1838.png

to be honest I see deck with Beregond Hama and Gondor shield +this cool event. working very good! Beregond was super defender!
 
In that case it's a response, and it cancels those two point of damage (so the game proceeds as if those 2 damage tokens were never placed).


Wizard is never late.......

 

Glaurung playtrough LOTR LCG on youtube :

http://www.youtube.com/user/olegyd   


#5 Glaurung

Glaurung

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,202 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 12:43 AM

But just for fun, you could do this to save Beregond:
 
M1838.png

to be honest I see deck with Beregond Hama and Gondor shield +this cool event. working very good! Beregond was super defender!
 
In that case it's a response, and it cancels those two point of damage (so the game proceeds as if those 2 damage tokens were never placed).


Wizard is never late.......

 

Glaurung playtrough LOTR LCG on youtube :

http://www.youtube.com/user/olegyd   


#6 Rapier

Rapier

    Member

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 09:12 AM

What hit Beregond and did 5 damage over his defence?

 

Sorry to say he died to whatever it was.


Edited by Rapier, 21 April 2014 - 09:12 AM.


#7 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,375 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 10:03 AM

could have been undefended, or that Dunland enemy in VoI that gets +1 atk for every card you have, or a Morgul Spider from HoN... lots of ouchies to be had.



#8 Tracker1

Tracker1

    Member

  • Members
  • 704 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 10:31 AM

could have been undefended, or that Dunland enemy in VoI that gets +1 atk for every card you have, or a Morgul Spider from HoN... lots of ouchies to be had.


Seems like in all those situations Beregond could have been healed before he defended, or better yet a chump could have been used if possible..

If it was due to a shadow card increasing enemy attack strength that is a different story, since there is an action window before attack strength is calculated and applied.. If a shadow added to the attack strength, then the warden could be used to remove damage from beregond before he is dealt more damage. But that is only going to work if the shadow says enemy gets +x attack. If the shadow removed a defender from play or said deal X damage, those happen immediately with no action window, so only a reponse that cancels a shadow card will work.

I wonder if that's the type of situation the OP is referring to?
'At last' said Aragorn 'Here are the tracks that we seek!'

#9 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,375 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 11:21 AM

No sillyhead, in all those situations Beregond would have received more damage than his total life points (4) in one fell swoop!  Getting attacked for 9 or 10 is no fluffy matter.  And if the player thought that using Warden in that situation was legal, he could have decided not to chump block based on that idea alone -- if a chump blocker was even available.  All I'm saying is that it does not take a whole lot of imagination to come up with a plausible scenario for this to happen.


Edited by GrandSpleen, 21 April 2014 - 11:22 AM.

  • Tracker1 likes this

#10 7theye

7theye

    Member

  • Members
  • 139 posts

Posted 21 April 2014 - 03:48 PM

Thanks guys. He defended an attack of 4 with beregond but got a guy that adds attack for each shadow card he gets and got a chain of them making it ultimately like 9 which he healed to 3 damage (warden + elrond).

Seems like consensus is that this was lot a valid play.

#11 Rapier

Rapier

    Member

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 11:45 AM

Thanks guys. He defended an attack of 4 with beregond but got a guy that adds attack for each shadow card he gets and got a chain of them making it ultimately like 9 which he healed to 3 damage (warden + elrond).

Seems like consensus is that this was lot a valid play.

 

If the single attack took him from 4 hitpoints to 0 in a single blow - then he died. However if he had damage on him, before the attack is resolved after the shadow cards are revealed it's possible to heal existing damage. (So if had 3 hit points remaining and the attack just managed to kill him, he would live). 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS