Jump to content



Photo

Excess penetration? Does it deal damage?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Harpazo

Harpazo

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 12:25 AM

If a weapon has 10 Pen and it hits something that has zero armor, does the penetration convert to damage?



#2 ak-73

ak-73

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,057 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 12:54 AM

No, it is lost.

 

Alex


My 40K Blog (essentially a Best Of FFG Forums):

http://www.40kroleplay.weebly.com

House Rules, Rule Clarifications, Game Aids, New Creatures, consolidated official Deathwatch Squad Mode rules, 40K Tabletop to 40K Roleplay comversions, etc.


#3 Harpazo

Harpazo

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 05:05 PM

Ah ok, thanks. Any idea where that is in the book?



#4 Lynata

Lynata

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,757 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 05:39 PM

Page 141, where it explains what the terms used in a weapon's profile mean.

 

Granted, it doesn't exactly say what happens with excess Pen, but since Pen is clearly different from Damage (which is listed as its own entry in the same list), and it doesn't say anywhere that Pen would be added to Damage, you are to assume that what happens is ... nothing. Because otherwise it'd say so.


Edited by Lynata, 19 April 2014 - 05:39 PM.

current 40k RPG character: Aura Vashaan, Astromancer Witch-Priestess
previous characters: Captain Elias (Celestial Lions Chapter), Comrade-Trooper Dasha Malenko (1207th Valhallan Ice Warriors), Sister Elana (Order of the Sacred Rose), Leftenant Darion Baylesworth (Rogue Trader Artemisia)

#5 Calgor Grim

Calgor Grim

    Member

  • Members
  • 424 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 05:44 PM

Lynata has it, exact wording for you as well:

 

When a shot or blow from this weapon hits a target, reduce the target's Armour Points by the weapon's Penetration with results of less than 0 counting as 0 (i.e. the armour provides no protection at all)

 

So the negative number from High AP versus Armour is treated as 0.


Edited by Calgor Grim, 19 April 2014 - 05:46 PM.

Loyal Missionary Father Grim of the Kingston 293rd Storm Troopers


#6 Kshatriya

Kshatriya

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,686 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:16 PM

The biggest plus to having "excess Pen" on a weapon is not necessarily needing to pull out a weapon with better Pen when something with heavier armor appears on the same mission.


  • Lynata likes this

#7 Lynata

Lynata

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,757 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:27 PM

Coincidentally, this is what keeps the humble boltgun viable later on, even when you might get, say, a melta. The three different clips allow you to switch between special ammunition as the situation demands! You can have one magazine for heavily armoured opponents, another for Hordes of mooks, etc.


Edited by Lynata, 19 April 2014 - 09:28 PM.

  • Fgdsfg likes this
current 40k RPG character: Aura Vashaan, Astromancer Witch-Priestess
previous characters: Captain Elias (Celestial Lions Chapter), Comrade-Trooper Dasha Malenko (1207th Valhallan Ice Warriors), Sister Elana (Order of the Sacred Rose), Leftenant Darion Baylesworth (Rogue Trader Artemisia)

#8 Harpazo

Harpazo

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:50 PM

Isn't direct quoting of the book a copyright issue?



#9 herichimo

herichimo

    Member

  • Members
  • 873 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 10:46 PM

In the interest of answering questions a short quote is probably not an issue. Quoting entire chapters or sections would be an issue.

 

Generally it is best to provide a page reference and paraphrase though, especially when dealing with core game mechanics.

 

As for the OP question, the above responses are correct. Pen only affects armor, it never provides additional damage through over-penetration.


Edited by herichimo, 19 April 2014 - 10:47 PM.


#10 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 1,554 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 02:28 AM

Isn't direct quoting of the book a copyright issue?

Fair use.


Real men earn their fun

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.


#11 Calgor Grim

Calgor Grim

    Member

  • Members
  • 424 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 03:30 AM

 

Isn't direct quoting of the book a copyright issue?

Fair use.

 

 

Depends how much you're quoting. If it's a small snippet used to fully explain the point which helps someone understand fully then this is surely a positive thing overall for the sake of book enjoyment/understanding and just a minor point.


Loyal Missionary Father Grim of the Kingston 293rd Storm Troopers





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS