Jump to content



Photo

Doppelganger at Night


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Triple A

Triple A

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 11:28 AM

If you face the Doppelganger (exact stats as character) at night, would the creature get +1 to his combat roll (disrupting the "mirror" image), or would he be exactly equal to the player even including the nighttime factor?

 

In other words, does the nighttime bonus get ignored because it's a Doppelganger?

 

  



#2 talismanisland

talismanisland

    Harbourmaster

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 12:38 PM

No, as the creature gets a bonus to its attack score (i.e. the die roll +1), not its Strength.


Harbourmaster at Talisman Island - 15 magical years and counting!

Sometimes I even update the Talisman Island Facebook Page!

#3 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,300 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 12:39 PM

From the core rulebook:

 

"The total of the creature’s attack roll and Strength is the creature’s attack score."

 

From the Blood Moon Rulesheet:

 

"During the Night, each creature adds 1 to its attack score during battle and psychic combat."
 
This means the creature adds 1 to its attack score after the attack rolls are made. Therefore in your scenario the Doppelganger fights with the exact same Strength as the character it is fighting. The night time factor is added when the results are totalled.
 
(Jon we posted virtually together!)

Edited by talismanamsilat, 18 April 2014 - 12:41 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS