Jump to content



Photo

Couple of questions


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 The Hunter

The Hunter

    Member

  • Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 07:49 AM

When the Dwarf lands on the Chasm, he doesn't need to roll the die.
But if he has a follower that had to be taken (such as the Poltergeist), rolling the die and getting a 1 or 2 would be a good way to get rid of such followers.
If he chooses to do this, can the Dwarf still choose who to roll the die for, or if he chooses to roll the die for one follower, he will also have to roll for himself and any other followers?

During one game, the Boatman and Demigod were drawn (on seperate turns) which got me thinking.
If you encounter the card, and choose not to accept their offer, or unable to accept it (no gold for the Boatman, not enough craft to gain a spell from the Demigod), do they remain on the board until someone accepts their offer, or do they get discarded straight away?

#2 Artaterxes

Artaterxes

    Member

  • Members
  • 330 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 08:09 AM

You encounter space instructions in their entirety, so yup the Dwarf rolls for himself and all his followers.

Events are always discarded when they are encountered, regardless of the outcome, unless
a) the effect lasts for multiple turns (leave on space until effect finishes), or
b) you skipped encountering the card, for example by missing a turn or moving away due to an effect of a different card encountered first in the sequence.

#3 The Hunter

The Hunter

    Member

  • Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 08:15 AM

Thanks.
Had a feeling this would be the case concerning the Dwarf and Boatman.
However, the Demigod is a Stranger. Would he remain on the board until someone gains a spell?

#4 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,744 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 09:51 AM

Thanks.
Had a feeling this would be the case concerning the Dwarf and Boatman.
However, the Demigod is a Stranger. Would he remain on the board until someone gains a spell?

 

Probably he should, as most Strangers remain on the board unless the condition to discard them is triggered.

 

But what makes you discard the Demigod? The fact that you gain a Spell from him or does he grant you this wonderful opportunity only once, and fades away even if you cannot take the Spell?

 

The card is oddly worded and for me it deserves a small FAQ entry.

 

But as a general rule, Events get always discarded after encountering them, while Strangers may be discarded only in certain circumstances described in the card.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS