Jump to content



Photo

Rendar's Wrath and Shielding????


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 CooMasterCoo

CooMasterCoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 12 April 2014 - 03:38 PM

So here is an interesting query. What comes first... Rendar's Wrath reaction or Shielding  card ability?

 

ffg_rendars-wrath-balance-of-the-force-9

 

Shielding
When a card with the “Shielding” keyword is declared 
as either attacker or defender, its controller may 
immediately place one shield token on any friendly 
unshielded participating unit, or to the engaged objective 

card, if unshielded.  

 

-Star Wars : TCG Podcast http://starwarstcg.com



#2 KennedyHawk

KennedyHawk

    Member

  • Members
  • 253 posts

Posted 12 April 2014 - 03:40 PM

Someone recently posted on cardgamedb

 

And here's the answer on the protect vs deflection and shielding vs Rendar's Wrath timing:

Protect is a replacement effect for when you actually try and place the damage token on the original target. The Interrupt on Lightsaber Deflection happens when you assign the damage, Protect interrupts when you go to actually place the damage on the target. As such, Lightsaber Deflection would happen first.

To the other case: Shielding is "When a unit with shielding is declared..." and Rendar's Wrath is "After an opponent..." Temporilly, 'when' comes before 'after,' so Shielding would happen first.

--
Erik Dahlman
Associate LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games



#3 CooMasterCoo

CooMasterCoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 12 April 2014 - 03:53 PM

Rock on. Thanks man. That's what we were coming to as well. Just the feedback we were looking for. 


Edited by CooMasterCoo, 12 April 2014 - 03:54 PM.


#4 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,392 posts

Posted 12 April 2014 - 04:22 PM

Yep, that was me.  I'm not sure what to make of the "temporarily" part of the response... I'm assuming that means it may be undergoing further consideration.



#5 Demas

Demas

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 12 April 2014 - 04:33 PM

Yep, that was me.  I'm not sure what to make of the "temporarily" part of the response... I'm assuming that means it may be undergoing further consideration.

 

You'll notice "Temporilly" is misspelled.

 

I believe Erik was trying to say, "in terms of timing", "of or relating to timing", or "temporally", the word "When" occurs before "After."

 

Hope that clears it up.



#6 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,392 posts

Posted 12 April 2014 - 06:13 PM

Heh, good catch. Silly typos messing with my brain.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS