Jump to content



Photo

Some questions about the Forgotten Souls (co-op) rules.


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 kerred

kerred

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 09 April 2014 - 01:15 PM

I frequent an FLGS, and asked the owner if I could help run the Forgotten Souls event day.

 

I played two games by myself to practice a routine to explain and entertain the people signing up for the event.

 

I just had a few questions, which I may have skipped in the rulebook:

 

1) Does the rule where a monster can only attack once still apply?  Like if a monste'rs orders are: -engage closest hero, -attack, and a monster is next to a hero, does it skip the first action, attack as its 1st action, skip the engage action again when you repeat the list (if its still close), and attack again as its 2nd action?

 

2) When it says "roll to spawn X monsters", yet there are not enough spaces (on the exit or next to the cauldron) to spawn, do the extra monsters spawn as close as possible to the spaces, like normal, or do they not spawn at all?

 

 

A few other questions:

 

3) Are there any tips any of you have for easily keeping track of all the exceptions?  When playing alone I found myself forgetting the extra monster ability text (like flesh moulders get +2 range), the exploration card abilities, and any peril abilities.  Is there any pattern or habit I should get into to remember all these exceptions going on?

 

4) Has anyone found any other rules new players often forget or misinterpret that I should keep reminding them?  One thing I kept forgetting was to lower Fate when I draw a peril card due to no monsters.  I put a purple token on TOP of the peril deck as a reminder for me.


Edited by kerred, 09 April 2014 - 01:17 PM.


#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,614 posts

Posted 10 April 2014 - 06:42 AM

I don't own or have access to the co-op variant rules, so take this with a grain of salt. All I know is what I've read in reviews of the product online.
 

1) Does the rule where a monster can only attack once still apply?  Like if a monste'rs orders are: -engage closest hero, -attack, and a monster is next to a hero, does it skip the first action, attack as its 1st action, skip the engage action again when you repeat the list (if its still close), and attack again as its 2nd action?


My understanding is yes, a monster can still only attack once per turn. When resolving a monster's activation, you go down the list of actions on the card you drew, performing the first one that you legally can perform, skipping any that you legally can't. Then you keep going and loop around until you've performed two actions.

So, if the first action you perform is an attack, you would skip any further actions that involve making an attack with that monster for the second action. If the monster has only taken one action and none of the actions can be legally performed for the second, then I think the monster would just stop after one action.

 

2) When it says "roll to spawn X monsters", yet there are not enough spaces (on the exit or next to the cauldron) to spawn, do the extra monsters spawn as close as possible to the spaces, like normal, or do they not spawn at all?


I don't know about this one, but I'd be inclined to say that the normal game's rules apply as long as they aren't contradicted in the variant rules. So unless there's a rule in the co-op variant that specifically says otherwise, yes, you would place the extra monsters in the nearest legal positions.

Edited by Steve-O, 10 April 2014 - 06:43 AM.


#3 kerred

kerred

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 10 April 2014 - 01:57 PM

Thanks for #1 and #2, those were my assumptions as well when I came across them in my playthrough.  The lack of atatcking twice definitely helped making me last up to the 1st creshendo.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS