Jump to content



Photo

Hand to Hand and bow attack


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 danieleb

danieleb

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 April 2014 - 02:07 PM

Hello ! Just finished to read the manual and tomorrow i Will have my first game but , i have a question about attacks . Can a monster or a hero make an attack with a ranged weapon ( like a bow ) if his target si adjacent to him ? Or ne must use its "punch" attack instead ? Thank you !

#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 08 April 2014 - 02:24 PM

He can attack adjacent. He uses the same dice as ranged attack and resolves the attack as ranged.
He could just use the blue die, though, but I don't see an advantage doing so.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 312 posts

Posted 08 April 2014 - 02:41 PM

He can attack adjacent. He uses the same dice as ranged attack and resolves the attack as ranged.
He could just use the blue die, though, but I don't see an advantage doing so.

Agreed. There is no "minimum" range for a ranged attack.



#4 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 08 April 2014 - 02:45 PM

I love that they threw in a rule about bare-hand combat. Opens things up for something like a Monk later. I know there's a fan creation for it and I'm glad the rule was set instead of a lot of games where you have to at least have one weapon.

Also A hero once punched a goblin archer of mine to death for fun.. I rolled a blank on his defense die and it killed him... humiliating... but that hero signed his death warrant for the rest of the campaign.



#5 The Thing In The Attic

The Thing In The Attic

    Member

  • Members
  • 205 posts

Posted 08 April 2014 - 04:05 PM

if memory serves there is a range value on every face of the blue attack dice except the miss side. the minimum range value on the blue dice is a 2 so unless you roll a miss (X) you can always fire your ranged weapon up to 2 squares away, line of sight permitting.

 

Remember also that a figure blocks its own square for line of sight so always measure from the front side of the square out rather than the backside and through and the same goes for the target too. measure to the side closest to the attacker rather than through the square to the far/back side..



#6 danieleb

danieleb

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 April 2014 - 12:19 AM

Wow that was fast ! Thank you !

#7 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 479 posts

Posted 09 April 2014 - 09:08 AM

Remember also that a figure blocks its own square for line of sight so always measure from the front side of the square out rather than the backside and through and the same goes for the target too. measure to the side closest to the attacker rather than through the square to the far/back side..

According to RAW (as far as I can tell), there's actually one case where it can be beneficial to do otherwise (though almost definitely unintended). If they aren't in a direct (orthogonal) line, but are off to the side a bit, and you're using Tobin Farslayer, you can technically count from a space behind you diagonally as your first space. Though I really don't think that's intended, so I don't play it that way; otherwise diagonally adjacent could count as 3 spaces away (if you follow the counting spaces rules strictly).


Edited by griton, 09 April 2014 - 09:09 AM.


#8 deano2099

deano2099

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 11 April 2014 - 03:28 AM

 

Remember also that a figure blocks its own square for line of sight so always measure from the front side of the square out rather than the backside and through and the same goes for the target too. measure to the side closest to the attacker rather than through the square to the far/back side..

That's not how it works - checking line of sight and determining range are two totally different parts of combat in 2E, and don't relate to each other. You check line of sight first, from whichever corners will give you it. If you have line of sight from anywhere, you can go ahead and make the attack. When checking range after rolling, you count squares from the adjacent space of your choice to the target space. You don't have to start in a space adjacent to the corner that you have line of sight from.


  • griton and Whitewing like this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS