Jump to content



Photo

Goblin Follower


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 gimli19

gimli19

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 April 2014 - 08:08 PM

I love playing the Khazad-dum expansion with two players but one card has me perplexed.  The Goblin folower has a text "When revealed Goblin Folower engages the last player."  When that card is revealed do you leave it in staging until our threats is 33 or does it immediately come down?  Since it says when revealed I am assuming it comes down right away out of staging and right to the last player.  I am confused if it comes down right away why it has a threat of 33.  Any ideas of help would be greatly appreciated.



#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,127 posts

Posted 06 April 2014 - 09:29 PM

It immediately engages the last player. There are cards that can return it to the staging area (like "A Light in the Dark") and since it is a When Revealed effect, you can also cancel the effect with A Test of Will.  The immediate engagement effect only triggers when he is revealed, since it's a "when revealed" effect.  So his threat of 33 still has a meaning.  Also, there are some more recent cards that trigger only when you attack or engage an enemy with a higher engagement cost than your current threat (like Dagger of Westernesse or the Lore Pippin hero).

 

Hope that helps!


  • Dwarf king Bronze beard likes this

#3 gimli19

gimli19

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 07 April 2014 - 04:22 PM

It immediately engages the last player. There are cards that can return it to the staging area (like "A Light in the Dark") and since it is a When Revealed effect, you can also cancel the effect with A Test of Will.  The immediate engagement effect only triggers when he is revealed, since it's a "when revealed" effect.  So his threat of 33 still has a meaning.  Also, there are some more recent cards that trigger only when you attack or engage an enemy with a higher engagement cost than your current threat (like Dagger of Westernesse or the Lore Pippin hero).

 

Hope that helps!

Thanks Grand Spleen. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS