Jump to content



Photo

Can the Bard heal himself?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 PsiComa

PsiComa

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 05 April 2014 - 05:33 PM

Does all heroes in range take into account the hero himself?

 

It seems weird if the healer can't heal himself, cause then the overlord wiill obviously focus on the squishy healer and effectively deny all healing capability just like that. What's the deal?



#2 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 05 April 2014 - 05:57 PM

Unless it specifically excludes him, it does indeed include him.

 

Same goes for abilities like the Runemaster's Break the Rune (which makes it kinda bad)



#3 PsiComa

PsiComa

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 05 April 2014 - 06:03 PM

Thanks for the quick reply. I need to convince the Overlord about this, so can you point me to a place where this is clarified?



#4 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 05 April 2014 - 06:23 PM

Here's the unofficial FAQ (consists of answers by employees to rules questions asked).

 

http://boardgamegeek..._Unofficial_FAQ

 

It's in here.

 

In particular, it's the wording of the card (take it literally): It says all heroes within 3 spaces. The Bard is a hero, and is within 3 spaces of himself.



#5 PsiComa

PsiComa

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 06 April 2014 - 09:10 AM

maybe I'm lazy-eyed or something, but I didn't find it disucssed in your link. I do however agree with you 100%.


Edited by PsiComa, 06 April 2014 - 09:11 AM.


#6 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 06 April 2014 - 10:08 AM

It's sort of under the ruling for the runemaster ability Break the Rune.



#7 BsnOne

BsnOne

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 06 April 2014 - 01:33 PM

I would say you can make the argument based on one of the Bard's other abilities which states something like "all other heroes gain 1 stamina" while the healing one says "all heroes". The specific wording, at least to me, indicates the difference between when the Bard is and isn't affected.



#8 Sixko

Sixko

    Member

  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 06 April 2014 - 11:48 PM

Would this apply to abilities saying "All adjacent heroes"? Is the hero using that ability adjacent to himself?



#9 Adny

Adny

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 April 2014 - 05:32 AM

Would this apply to abilities saying "All adjacent heroes"? Is the hero using that ability adjacent to himself?

no. a space is not adjacent to itself. this exactly is the reason, why Serena cannot heal herself with Soothing spirit, unless she also posseses the Healing Aura skill card






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS