Jump to content



Photo

New player: challenge, moribund and claim.


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Mister321

Mister321

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 April 2014 - 01:41 PM

Player A is attacking player B. The type is military.
Player B chooses defend with the character that has Ice attached.
He uses Ice to kill the attacker.

He is a moribund, right?

FAQ says that moribund is considered killed ONLY to initiate triggers effect and passive abilities. For all other purposes, FAQ says, he still in play.

So, he is in play for all other purposes.

So, he continues as an attacker until the end of turn (item 6) of the attacker guy.

The player A, the attacker, won the challenge. The question is: moribund dies after or before the claim?

If he dies AFTER, the claim happens. If not, dont.

FAQ says that moribund card is a in play card, except for triggering affect or passive abilites. And FAQ says very clear that he is in play card for every other purposes.

And FAQ also says that the death of moribund card is the last thing to solve.

So, in my opinion, claim comes first, and only then the moribund card will to the cemetery.

Am I right?

What is your opinion.

Thx.

#2 -Istaril

-Istaril

    Member

  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 05 April 2014 - 02:40 PM

Keep in mind that Moribund is a state that only lasts until the end of the action window, NOT the end of the challenge.

The action window in this case is, after defenders have been declared, as a player action Ice is used to get rid of an attacker. It resolves successfully (Step III of a Player Action Window), at which point the attacking character enters the moribund state. then Passives triggered off that action, responses, etc will resolve/can be triggered, and then the character will leave play. 

 

All of this happens before you get to the "Challenge Resolution" framework (the grey box in the FAQ). 



#3 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,569 posts

Posted 05 April 2014 - 03:11 PM

A little more detail --

 

The "anatomy" of a challenge goes like this:

 

A. Attacker declares a challenge against the defender, naming type and kneeling attacking characters.

B. Player actions.

C. Attacker assigns stealth, Defender kneels defending characters.

D. Player actions.

E. Challenge resolves.

 

With that in mind, remember that:

- Each step in that sequence has its own "Steps 1-6."

- In fact, B and D has a "Steps 1-6" for each and every player action that is triggered.

- This means that all moribund cards will all be removed by the end of each step in the sequence (A, B, C, etc.)

 

So, as -Istaril says, in your scenario, the defending player used Ice to kill the attacker during D (player actions between declaring defenders and resolving the challenge). The moribund attacker was thus physically removed from the table during D. It was therefore long gone before the challenge started to resolve (and could not be part of determining who won the challenge).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS