• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Facilier

Facilier

• Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 04:02 PM

Howdy, folks!

So I am new to Netrunner, but pretty long in the tooth as far as card games go. I've played MTG on and off for more than a decade, and competed in VS and Legend of the Five Things when those were around (regardless of the rumours that L5R is sort of back to life). I consider myself a relatively savvy card player, having won sizeable tournaments in each of those.

With Netrunner I find myself really intrigued at the notion of a tournament being played as both the evil runner, trying to bring down the virtuous corporation, as it tries to complete agendas for the betterment of humanity, and the poor corporation itself, desperately trying to stave off the runner's onslaught before it can actually take its newest offering public. So between that and wanting more opportunities to play (initially got the core set for myself and a friend to have a game to play now that we share weekends) I am thinking of swinging up for a tournament in the capital on the 19th.

So I was wondering how brutally merciless tournaments are in Netrunner, whether everything is obsessively fine-tuned like an MTG Pro Tour, or whether a tournament is more of just a celebration of the game, and might actually be an appropriate place to essentially learn to play the game, with a bit of a makeshift deck from whatever data packs I can pick up between now and then, likely playing with cards I wouldn't have necessarily used all together before the day.

Would y'all think it's a bad idea, and would I be detracting from the tournament experience for others by jumping in the deep end so soon?