Jump to content



Photo

Dual-Wielding Hellpistols


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 jabberwoky

jabberwoky

    Member

  • Members
  • 210 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 08:57 PM

I am led to believe that a Hellpistol is a powerful laspistol connected to a battery pack by a thick cord where it draws power, usually held in place like a backpack.

 

Thus, is it possible to dual-wield Hellpistols? Since each weapon has a cord and backpack to power it, would that make them too cumbersome to dual-wield?

 



#2 Nameless2all

Nameless2all

    Member

  • Members
  • 760 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 10:57 PM

RAW it is allowed. 


For a collection of fan created material, please refer to the link below. Some of it was edited/created by myself and friends, while most is other fan material. Happy gaming people.https://drive.google.com<p>-"May your endeavors always be prosperous, though they may not always be profitable."


#3 Amaimon

Amaimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 288 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 03:34 AM

It is allowed. I remeber that in one book, some badass storm trooper sarge, wielded two hellguns with pistol grips or recoil gloves.



#4 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 04:16 AM

There is nothing preventing this. You just need to keep in mind that there's two small backpacks, which might take up space, limiting your mobility or how much you can carry.

But there's realistically nothing preventing you from dual-wielding Hellpistols at all.


Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#5 Iku Rex

Iku Rex

    Member

  • Members
  • 242 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 05:29 AM

The Rogue Trader Jeremiah Blitz, from Lure of the Expanse, uses two hellpistols.

 

(Guy on the right in this pic:  http://henning.devia...der-2-162859509 .)



#6 Quietus1

Quietus1

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 06:59 AM

I would infer they get hooked to the same backpack in most cases. Would halve your ammo, but...



#7 bzro

bzro

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 07 April 2014 - 07:04 AM

Well, a large backpack ammo pack holds 200 rounds...

(Although I houserule that it holds 200 heavy weapon, 300 basic weapon, and 400 pistol weapon rounds.)

But I don't see why not, honestly. It would take a bit of jury rigging, but totally doable.

Although the idea of reloading those things has alsays been weird to me. I mean, who walks around with multiple backpacks? At that point you might as well just have 1 big backpack and save yourself the trouble.
  • El_Jairo likes this

#8 Askold

Askold

    Member

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 07 April 2014 - 01:33 PM

I would infer they get hooked to the same backpack in most cases. Would halve your ammo, but...

That is how I would do it.



#9 Amazing Larry

Amazing Larry

    Member

  • Members
  • 331 posts

Posted 10 April 2014 - 02:24 AM

I'm pretty sure the hellpistol battery isn't so much a backpack sized object as it's more a quart sized belt mounted object.



#10 bzro

bzro

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 10 April 2014 - 05:07 AM

I'm pretty sure the hellpistol battery isn't so much a backpack sized object as it's more a quart sized belt mounted object.


Well, in The Inquisitors Handbook (it was the one closest to me) has a little dagger symbol next to the weight of both the hellgun and hellpistol, which says "not including power backpack".

Then again, it's DH. Might be changed in newer books.

#11 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 10 April 2014 - 07:08 PM

I'm pretty sure the hellpistol battery isn't so much a backpack sized object as it's more a quart sized belt mounted object.

There's both kinds. For example, Stormtroopers with full Hellguns and equipment regularly have backpack-sized batteries.

Hellpistols, afaik, usually have belt-mounted batteries the size of a small car battery.


Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#12 bobh

bobh

    Member

  • Members
  • 602 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 07:55 PM

I am led to believe that a Hellpistol is a powerful laspistol connected to a battery pack by a thick cord where it draws power, usually held in place like a backpack.

 

Thus, is it possible to dual-wield Hellpistols? Since each weapon has a cord and backpack to power it, would that make them too cumbersome to dual-wield?

 

its an excellent idea; in my old campaigns the RT's PA had a pair of packs hooked to HPs he could duel weild.



#13 RogalDorn01

RogalDorn01

    Member

  • Members
  • 289 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 12:03 PM

There is no reason why you wouldn't be able to dual wield Hellpistols.  Though if memory serves I don't think you are REQUIRED to have an external power supply for it.  I remember I had an old Explorator that ran with hellguns and I was very excited when I was finally able to procure a backpack power supply.


"And now...witness the firepower of this fully armed and operational invisible doggy fence..."


#14 Errant

Errant

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,188 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 03:46 PM

I'd assume you were using the 10kg waist-pouch for it before. 



#15 RogalDorn01

RogalDorn01

    Member

  • Members
  • 289 posts

Posted 13 May 2014 - 07:00 AM

Perhaps I was Errant, I was wearing so much stuff already with that Explorator character anything is possible...


"And now...witness the firepower of this fully armed and operational invisible doggy fence..."


#16 Sebastian Yorke

Sebastian Yorke

    Member

  • Members
  • 311 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 03:01 PM

http://warhammer40k....sarkar_E._Creed

Lord Castellan Ursakar Creed wields 2 master crafted hellpistols, this is enough reason to have my military-focused RT using these.


RT Wannabe Shipwright & Frustrated GM


#17 Routa-maa

Routa-maa

    Member

  • Members
  • 563 posts

Posted 16 May 2014 - 04:08 AM

Out of my head but memory says that you can wield Hellgun/hellpistol with normal charge pack but halve the clip size.  :unsure:


Muutokselle annamme Elämän, Elämälle annamme Muutoksen.

#18 Helcular

Helcular

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 07:53 AM

I'm looking into a similar situation.  I would like to twin-link hellpistols.

 

I'm assuming you could use just the one 10kg powerpack, but the clip size would still be 40.  So you would be using 2 shots everytime (or 4 shots with semi-auto?)

 

My question is how would you do a semi auto burst using twin-linked? Also does red-dot sight bonus stack with the twin-linked bonus?

 

Semi-auto burst states (+10 to BS, additional hit for every two degrees of success.)

 

twin linked states (A weapon with the Twin-linked Quality gains a +20% bonus to hit when fired and uses twice as much ammunition. In addition, the weapon may score one additional hit if the attack roll succeeds by two or more degrees of success.)



#19 Tenebrae

Tenebrae

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,044 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 08:12 AM

Red Dot only works with single shot, but should work with Twin-linked.

 

As for the Twin-linked Burst, here's what I get:

+30 to BS (burst +10, twinlinked +20).

Degrees of succes - result

failure - nada.

Success - 1 hit

2-3 DoS - 3 hits (1 base +1 for BF +1 for TL)

4-5 DoS - 4 hits

etc, to a max of RoF+1

 

makes sense?



#20 Erathia

Erathia

    Member

  • Members
  • 904 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 04:56 PM

Also Motion Predictors are a scope designed to give +10 to BS on Semi/Full-Auto only which would be a better scope choice.

 

Incidentally, how do you/your group handle the Twin-Linked upgrade? Apart from an Orkish upgrade, I haven't found any rules that indicate how you would make a weapon Twin-Linked, so I've assumed they have to be deliberately designed that way. Am I overlooking something?


Citizens of Grace! We have defeated both the Dark Eldar and Ork menaces that threatened your system! We need no thanks nor payments, so long as you do not leave the atmosphere during our salvage operations under pain of death! - Jequin Hos of The Hos Dynasty





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS