Jump to content



Photo

missile pinned discs


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tartarous

Tartarous

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 05:30 AM

 does anyone knows if pinned discs with misile ability can make range attacks???



#2 Westonard

Westonard

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 08:52 AM

I would say no. The rules for pinning and ranged attacks is that the one doing the pinning can make ranged attacks against its target. Other than that, there is nothing at all about ranged attacks and pins, so I would say if a unit is being pinned it can only counter attack the unit pinning it.


  • MechaBri.Zilla likes this

#3 ziggy2000

ziggy2000

    Member

  • Members
  • 737 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 10:14 AM

Ranged attacks require the attacking disk to be activated, and a pinned disk cannot be activated. So, no.


  • MechaBri.Zilla likes this

#4 Tartarous

Tartarous

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 03:00 AM

thanks 



#5 Sleemo

Sleemo

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 02:18 PM

What about the disc on top (the disc which is doing the pinning) – can it still make ranged attacks and use focus abilities if you remove it's activation token (or start a new round)?

 

I've been playing where they couldn't, since they were engaged, but not sure if that's right.



#6 Westonard

Westonard

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 02:53 PM

Yes, if the pinning disk has a ranged attack, they can activate and shoot the disk they are pinning. 


  • MechaBri.Zilla likes this

#7 MechaBri.Zilla

MechaBri.Zilla

    Member

  • Members
  • 276 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 03:46 PM

Yes, if the pinning disk has a ranged attack, they can activate and shoot the disk they are pinning. 

 

Or any other disk within range, I thought.  I don't have my rules in front of me though.



#8 Westonard

Westonard

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 05:54 PM

 

Yes, if the pinning disk has a ranged attack, they can activate and shoot the disk they are pinning. 

 

Or any other disk within range, I thought.  I don't have my rules in front of me though.

 

 

The only thing about ranged attacks and pinning is that it can attack a disk it is pinning, nothing about shooting others. Of course, the rules could use a little bit of clarity, as they say they are always in range of themselves, but cannot make a ranged attack against themselves. I have always thought this as if you scatter while pinning you could hit yourself, but you couldn't target yourself and hope for a scatter to the enemy.



#9 MechaBri.Zilla

MechaBri.Zilla

    Member

  • Members
  • 276 posts

Posted 20 April 2014 - 03:41 PM

Right, it's saying that a pinned disk (really any pinned disk) is a valid target, but that doesn't mean if you are pinning a disk then the disk you are pinning is the *only* valid target.  An unpinned disk may take any action it is normally entitled too, including moving and shooting.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS