Hello FFG community,
I'm the Overlord for the first time and we're about to delve into the second part of "Secrets in Stone". I have a question regarding the Persistent Curse in which players must roll to see if they get cursed at the start of their turn. The heroes insist that if they get it, they can then immediately roll to see if they can remove it. Is that the case or does it persist until the start of the next turn?
The most experienced member of the group (the bearer of the rules) states that since both rolling to get this condition and rolling to alleviate conditions are start of turn options, the player can decide which resolves first so they can roll for the persistent curse before then rolling to resolve it. This has some reason to it but it also sounds counterintuitive to the point of the persistent curse. Because I have two summoning heroes, this would make a tremendous impact in the game.
I apologize if this has been addressed in full but I have searched the internet, this forum via the engine and by thumbing through the first 20 pages of threads to no avail.