Jump to content



Photo

lannister iron throne versus character agendas


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 futabaaoi

futabaaoi

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 30 March 2014 - 12:16 PM

Is it possible for this card to stop the attaching effect of the character agenda or is it unable to due to the way the card is worded?

#2 doulos2k

doulos2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 246 posts

Posted 30 March 2014 - 12:23 PM

No. The effect is a replacement effect that changes the moribund destination. The only thing you could do is to try and use a general character save to save the character to prevent it from dying in the first place. Once the character is moribund, there's really nothing you can do to prevent it.


Austin AGoT Players

http://agotaustin.com


#3 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,558 posts

Posted 30 March 2014 - 12:32 PM

More generally for The Iron Throne: Because of the way the Throne is worded ("...cancel a character ability just triggered."), it is only allowed to cancel triggered effects.

 

The effect on a character agenda is not triggered - it happens whether anyone wants it to or not. Since it is not triggered, it is outside The Iron Throne's play restrictions and cannot be canceled.



#4 OKTarg

OKTarg

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 01:37 PM

Rule of thumb: Triggered Effects start with Bold text. So, since the charagenda abilities don't, we know they aren't triggered effects and therefore can't be stopped by the Iron Throne.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS