Jump to content



Photo

Can a Retreated Unit Counter Attack?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Recon022

Recon022

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 March 2014 - 04:26 PM

We had a situation where the Flesh Rippers made an enemy unit retreat, the the Rippers used Pursue to move to the enemy's original hex, and attacked. 

 

The Rippers failed to eliminate the enemy unit, so the other player wanted to know if he could Counter Attack, can he?

 

In other words, can a unit that has retreated counter attack an enemy that uses Pursue on them? 

 

Thanks!

 



#2 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,234 posts

Posted 09 March 2014 - 04:38 PM

Yes. Let's look at the wording: Pursue allows you to perform an additional Attack. Counter are triggered by attacks. So, if the attacked unit survives the second attack and is not forced to retreat, it may perform the counter.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#3 Recon022

Recon022

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 March 2014 - 04:51 PM

Thanks, that's what we thought. So that basically makes it where it may not always be wise to use Pursuit, especially if you make the enemy retreat off of a hex that you want to move onto and keep, such as a hex with a VP marker on it, right?



#4 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,234 posts

Posted 09 March 2014 - 05:46 PM

Yes, exactly, whether using Pursue or not is just part of the general strategy: sometimes it's helpful, sometimes not.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS