Jump to content



Photo

Question about "The Dawnblade", Encounter 2


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 LoneWolf2k1

LoneWolf2k1

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 02 March 2014 - 04:16 PM

Hi,

 

just finished "The Dawnblade", but I noticed something curious...

The heroes had pretty much stomped out the open groups but in doing so did not kill off a red shadow dragon at the entrance  of the Dragon's Lair and I happened to have a "Dash" on hand.

 

Said dragon was able to reach the Entrance, thus winning the scenario for the OL, in 3 move actions (2 moves + dash), making this victory taste quite hollow...

 

Is this supposed to be possible? I looked it up online but, seemingly, noone had this "problem" yet. Not that I'd mind winning once in a while (the heroes in our campaign only lost 1 scenario so far with only 1 left in act II) but this "Oh.. you did not completely block the path. Oops. Insta-Death" really seems strange to me...


Edited by LoneWolf2k1, 02 March 2014 - 04:18 PM.


#2 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 02 March 2014 - 09:01 PM

As far as I can tell, the Shadow Dragon, even with Dash can only just barely reach the Entrance via expanding onto it, but would then have no more movement points with which to move off the map. (Be sure to read the section "Moving Off The Map" on p. 9 of the rulebook)



#3 MrRangefinder

MrRangefinder

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 08:25 AM

Must agree with Lonewolf2k1, is a weird victory condition. Since this victory for the OL would make the the Heroes go, "Whoops this Dawnblade that they have in our hands, I'll just hand this over to the OL as a Dragon had got away". Just doesn't sit quite right.

 

When this happened to our group. We decided to play on. With the OL allowed to use the Shadow Dragon as one of his open group. But the fate of the Weird stone decided which side won or lost the encounter. Worked for us :)


  • jadedbacon likes this

#4 jadedbacon

jadedbacon

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 10:30 AM

Looks like this quest was written before they had thought of having bonus objectives like what you see in LoR and Trollfens.  House ruling that the OL can use Shadow Dragons if one escapes, but isn't used as a victory condition seems like a fine alternative imho.


Edited by jadedbacon, 05 March 2014 - 10:30 AM.

Never believe in "never"

- Algus Sadalfas





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS