Jump to content



Photo

Just need a little clarification


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 MavolentBrosa

MavolentBrosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 01 March 2014 - 10:58 AM

While playing a game the other day, ran into a differing of opinions with the other player.

 

1) R5-D8.  

   Opinion A.  As it's repair ability is prefaced with "Action:", you must spend your one action per turn to activate it's chance to repair damage, and therefore cannot take a different action, unless you have a free action from something else (i.e. PTL.)

   Opinion B. The action is taken by the Droid and you may take any other actions as normal.

 

2) Expert Handling.

    Opinion A. Similar to #1. You take an action to preform the barrel roll. Cannot take another action, etc etc.

   Opinion B. It's a free action and you may take another action normally.

 

3) Direct hit. (critical damage card)

   Opinion A. You leave the card face up when drawn as a crit. And you just count it as two damage (cannot be repaired by R5-D8.)

   Opinion B. You turn the card face down and draw another damage card face down


“The only time a man can be brave is when he is afraid.” John snowA Dance with Dragons. (George R.R. Martin)

Empire: 6 TF, 5 TI, 4 TB, 1 TA, 1 FS, 1 LS

Rebellion: 3 AW, 3 BW, 4 XW, 2 YW, 1 Hwk, 1 YT-1300, 1 GR-75


#2 DraconPyrothayan

DraconPyrothayan

    Member

  • Members
  • 3,467 posts

Posted 01 March 2014 - 11:09 AM

While playing a game the other day, ran into a differing of opinions with the other player.

 

1) R5-D8.  

   Opinion A.  As it's repair ability is prefaced with "Action:", you must spend your one action per turn to activate it's chance to repair damage, and therefore cannot take a different action, unless you have a free action from something else (i.e. PTL.)

   Opinion B. The action is taken by the Droid and you may take any other actions as normal.

Opinion A, hands-down. "Action" is a very specific term in this game. Upgrades don't get activation-phases to themselves ;-)

 

2) Expert Handling.

    Opinion A. Similar to #1. You take an action to preform the barrel roll. Cannot take another action, etc etc.

   Opinion B. It's a free action and you may take another action normally.

Opinion A again. You get an action, wherein you perform a barrel roll and shake off an enemy Target Lock. Then, if you have no Barrel Roll icon in your action bar, you gain a stress.
It's already strictly better than a standard Barrel Roll. Making it actionless is just....broken..

 

3) Direct hit. (critical damage card)

   Opinion A. You leave the card face up when drawn as a crit. And you just count it as two damage (cannot be repaired by R5-D8.)

   Opinion B. You turn the card face down and draw another damage card face down

Opinion A for the hat-trick.
If it auto-drew a second card, Saboteur (which flips up face-down cards) would be played more often. The only cards that resolve themselves into a face-down card tell you to do so.
Note: Direct Hits, and other ship-based crits, can be repaired by the R5 Astromech, into a single generic damage.


  • haslo, oneway and SableGryphon like this

#3 MavolentBrosa

MavolentBrosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 01 March 2014 - 01:08 PM

Thank you. That should help for next game.  :D


  • DraconPyrothayan likes this

“The only time a man can be brave is when he is afraid.” John snowA Dance with Dragons. (George R.R. Martin)

Empire: 6 TF, 5 TI, 4 TB, 1 TA, 1 FS, 1 LS

Rebellion: 3 AW, 3 BW, 4 XW, 2 YW, 1 Hwk, 1 YT-1300, 1 GR-75





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS