Jump to content



Photo

Castle Daerion militiaman


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 faustig

faustig

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 February 2014 - 03:37 AM

in castle daerion encounter 2 errata explain that militiaman arrive at entrance at the end of last hero turn. Can they take immediately their turn or just appear and have to wait the second turn? (otherwise I don't understand why the errata!!)



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 28 February 2014 - 05:44 AM

The errata was written because the militia men were previously set up after the heroes, thus blocking the latters' possibilities of moving before some monsters had been eliminated.
Facing monsters with regenerating effects such as kobolds, this led to a quasi OL auto win.

Now, militia men are placed at the end of the heroes' turn.
They only are activated during the next turn.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 02 March 2014 - 06:36 PM

They only are activated during the next turn.

 

I don't think this is correct. The Errata says they "are placed ... at the end of the last hero's first turn" and the Quest Guide says they "activate at the end of the last hero turn". So they should be able to activate the round they are placed.



#4 faustig

faustig

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 March 2014 - 12:16 PM

My personal think is that militiaman works like OL renforcement, so they can just be placed in the first turn.......

but in this case they can change the encounter so I would like to know many opinion about!!!!

Thank you to all!!



#5 BenOverlord

BenOverlord

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 03 March 2014 - 12:38 PM

My take on this is rather simple.  It uses the golden rule.

 

Both activate the militia and place the militia happens at the same time so active player can select the order they resolve. 

So yes you can activate them the first round. 

 

At end of last players turn you place them.

Then its still end of a players turn so you can activate them.

 

In many other cases OL can exploit two things happening at once.  For example reinforce at end of turn.  Can blood rage before or after placing depending on which is more useful. 



#6 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 348 posts

Posted 03 March 2014 - 02:08 PM

Two things happen at the end of the lasts hero's turn: The militiamen appear, and the militiamen activate. They occur simultaneously, which means that since the hero has priority (it happens at the end of his turn, not after his turn is over), he or she can choose the order of the two events (this is the rule anytime there are two events which have the same timing or trigger). This means that the militiamen can activate (or not) on the first turn at the discretion of the last hero.



#7 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 04 March 2014 - 12:41 PM

My personal think is that militiaman works like OL renforcement, so they can just be placed in the first turn.......

but in this case they can change the encounter so I would like to know many opinion about!!!!

Thank you to all!!

The difference is that they are told explicitly to activate during the same period of time that they are placed. Whereas OL reinforcement happens in a different phase (either at the start or the end of the turn) while monster activations happen during the turn.



#8 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,604 posts

Posted 04 March 2014 - 09:44 PM

My personal think is that militiaman works like OL renforcement, so they can just be placed in the first turn.......
but in this case they can change the encounter so I would like to know many opinion about!!!!
Thank you to all!!


The difference is that they are told explicitly to activate during the same period of time that they are placed. Whereas OL reinforcement happens in a different phase (either at the start or the end of the turn) while monster activations happen during the turn.


I agree. Without explicit permission to activate, I would concur that the militiamen could not be activated the turn they were placed. However, the quest rules trump general rules and allow them to activate first turn in this quest.
  • Robin likes this

#9 solitear

solitear

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 15 March 2014 - 07:28 PM

i disagree.  the initial militiamen are a reward for doing well on the first encounter.....later ones are brought in by the will check of the leader and must wait until next turn.  but I see the initial 0 to 4 militia men arriving alongside the heroes.  I think the errata was just to prevent an OL exploit not allowing the heroes to to make headway.  Not to push the militaimen actions back an entire turn.



#10 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 348 posts

Posted 16 March 2014 - 01:42 AM

Again, it's a question of priorities and action resolution. When two events occur at the same time, (at the end of the last player's turn for example), it is the person with priority who decides in which order they resolve.

 

According to the quest rules, at the end of the last player's turn they arrive, and also, simultaneously, at the end of the last player's turn they activate. Since the last player has priority, he decides in which order those two events occur: he can, if he so chooses, have them arrive first and then activate, and thus control them. If for some reason he doesn't want to, he could also choose for the activation to occur first (in which case nothing happens), and then have them arrive after.



#11 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,604 posts

Posted 16 March 2014 - 06:40 AM

According to the quest rules, at the end of the last player's turn they arrive, and also, simultaneously, at the end of the last player's turn they activate. Since the last player has priority, he decides in which order those two events occur: he can, if he so chooses, have them arrive first and then activate, and thus control them. If for some reason he doesn't want to, he could also choose for the activation to occur first (in which case nothing happens), and then have them arrive after.


Indeed, and well said.

He could also choose to have them arrive first, and then activate, but do nothing with them during their activation. Just out of spite. =P




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS